HDMI to go by by... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-03-2010, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
barryecohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: GSP Exit 165, NJ
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just wish they'd done it this way from the start...

http://www.dailytech.com/So+Long+HDM...ticle18902.htm

So much media, so little time...

 

barryecohen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-04-2010, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brent McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ormond Beach Fl.
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While this is getting a lot of web time there is a large amount of missing info.
#1. This does NOT replace HDMI in the system.
It is placed behind the Tx (source) HDMI board and in front of the RX (display) board. It does not in any way effect how HDMI works.
#2. Cost.
This will add $20+ dollars at build of materials cost per connection (which equates to around $100 by the time it gets to retail).
#3. This will have a huge impact on retailers.
Contrary to popular belief retailers break even at best on hard goods (DVD, Blue-Ray, FPD and gaming systems). Accessories are what allow retailers to sell these items at the price that they do. Without added cable sales retailers will reduce the amount of FPD inventory thus cutting a mfgr's ability to move displays.
#4. To much upfront investment to change.
Equipment mfgr's are just now starting to recoup HDMI R/D costs, they do not want/need another format.
#5. Most important.
The cast majority of consumers have no issue with HDMI as it stands.
They connect a couple of sources to a display with 6' cables and life is good.
The "CI" community is very small and of little effect on the sales bottom line.

Brent McCall
Not A Dealer
Brent McCall is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-07-2010, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crutschow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent McCall View Post

This will add $20+ dollars at build of materials cost per connection (which equates to around $100 by the time it gets to retail).

On what do you base that cost? I don't see that a CAT5 line driver should be any more expensive than an HDMI line driver if incorporated into the system. They are both essentially the same signal, just going over different wires.

Carl
Curmudgeon Elektroniker
crutschow is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-07-2010, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
My guess is you will see this technology primarily on TVs and AVRs, perhaps just adopting manufacturers' higher end ones initially, to solve the problem that HDMI has with long distances between the source and the display. There is really no need for the individual sources to incorporate this technology. They are typically close enough to the AVR that HDMI works fine. And for those than don't have an AVR with the capability, a switch with this technology can be used just like folks use HDMI switches now. I don't think in any way it is going to supplant HDMI in most products.
Colm is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-07-2010, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brent McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ormond Beach Fl.
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crutschow View Post

On what do you base that cost? I don't see that a CAT5 line driver should be any more expensive than an HDMI line driver if incorporated into the system. They are both essentially the same signal, just going over different wires.

This is not a network type chip it is a Pan5 chip multi-layer/multi-voltage (whole different animal) then of course like HDMI there is only one vendor for the technology.
Also do not forget that HDMI is still in the source/display device, but now it would have this chip-set and an emulator added.

We looked into this two years ago (this is not really new) and at that time to create a point to point transmission system we would have had to retail it at $1200.00 which put it into fiber territory.
The original product developing company (not the technology creator) went out of business maybe Valens will have better luck (but, I do not think so as big box retailers have NO incentive to support this format).

Brent McCall
Not A Dealer
Brent McCall is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-08-2010, 01:40 PM
Member
 
RioTubes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for the rudimentary question but will existing TVs with ethernet ports (i.e. Panny TV to receive viera cast) and Dish DVR boxes be able to transmit and receive HDBaseT through existing ethernet ports on those boxes? Or does the HDBaseT protocol require different transmission and receiver hardware in the source (blu ray, DVR, etc.) and TVs themselves?

Ahh just found the answer and, yes, there will be HDBaseT chipsets required...I guess maybe they'll offer a dongle or other means of conversion.
RioTubes is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-08-2010, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brent McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ormond Beach Fl.
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RioTubes View Post

sorry for the rudimentary question but will existing TVs with ethernet ports (i.e. Panny TV to receive viera cast) and Dish DVR boxes be able to transmit and receive HDBaseT through existing ethernet ports on those boxes? Or does the HDBaseT protocol require different transmission and receiver hardware in the source (blu ray, DVR, etc.) and TVs themselves?

Ahh just found the answer and, yes, there will be HDBaseT chipsets required...I guess maybe they'll offer a dongle or other means of conversion.


No.
HDBaseT is an IP standards beased system.

Brent McCall
Not A Dealer
Brent McCall is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off