Image cycles dark and light - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 01:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved my HT around where I'm now using a 25' hdmi cable to the Samsung 55" LED TV from a Yamaha RX-V667 receiver. Watching DVD or Apple TV the image cycles between a good bright image and a dark image.

Is this the cable? When connected with the same brand of 2M cable it looked great.

Thanks

-JD-
jwdenning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Paladin68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the information given, I would suspect the cable. I have seen many issues with HDMI cables but not that exact symptom. Have you had the 25 foot cable a while? Hdmi at 15 feet and under does not have issues a 25 footer might exhibit and the fact you swapped it and removed the problem is a good indicator.
Paladin68 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable brand new. I've got another cable, different make coming, one that says HDMI 1.3. I also plugged it into a different port on the TV, but haven't had a chance to test that.

This was a hard one to describe I'll report back once I try another cable.

-JD-
jwdenning is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 10:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Complete info on model of TV .. ?? Any source working properly, such as cable ..?? Anything is possible, however, it's unlikely to be the fault of your HDMI cable ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Paladin68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the questioner tried it with a two meter hdmi and the picture was fine. Two sources showed the same symptom according to his statement I believe also, but then perhaps I misread.
Paladin68 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-10-2010, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladin68 View Post

I believe the questioner tried it with a two meter hdmi and the picture was fine. Two sources showed the same symptom according to his statement I believe also, but then perhaps I misread.

Sorry, but I've never heard of an HDMI cable causing light pulsing ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-10-2010, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TV is a Samsung UN55C6500 Receiver is a Yamaha RX-V667. I've had them about 1.5 months. Was using a 2M HDMI. No problems, beautiful image. All I did was move things around, so am now using a 25' cable and anything from the receiver looks poor. Cable still looks good, as good as it can

I have a new cable coming, should have it soon. Maybe defective??? And yes from what I've been reading it is almost unknown.

-JD-
jwdenning is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-10-2010, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Paladin68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Sorry, but I've never heard of an HDMI cable causing light pulsing ..

I have seen many issues with HDMI cables but not that exact symptom

Yeah, I kind of said that earlier myself but you can get into issues with longer cables at times and with a two meter cable working fine, trying another brand of 25 foot seems logical. We should have an answer fairly soon regardless.
Paladin68 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-17-2010, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well new cable looks good. I don't know if this matters, but the old cable was difficult to plug in. Real tight space since it goes in sideways. It could have been not pushed in all the way.

Though like I said Cable looked good, just optical disks that didn't. Looked like old Macrovision .

But it's happy now. Got it all connected, calibrated, working and love it. Had to get a 25' optical cable for audio from TV to 667. No problem there at all.

Now I just need to program my universal remote app for the iPhone.

Thanks everyone...

-JD-
jwdenning is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off