Fiber for 60' Run? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-07-2011, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I currently have intermittent flickering horizontal lines on a 60 foot fiber DVI-DVI run (no extender) on my 1080p projector.

What would you guys recommend to eliminate the flickering?

- Fiber HDMI with extender?

- Copper HDMI with extender?

- Cat 6 with extender?

- something else?

I would like to buy a long term solution that can handle 4K, 3D, etc/, as I'm afraid this might be expensive.

Thanks.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-07-2011, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectionist2 View Post

I would like to buy a long term solution that can handle 4K...

I think you are in for a long wait then...
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Fletch717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Petersburg,Fl
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought cat6 with HDMI adapters on each end would make that run easily.
Fletch717 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Are are many solutions that will work at that distance for most folks, just not for what he wants.
Colm is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK. Good point. Let's eliminate the 4K requirement.

What would be your primary recommendation and why?

Thank you.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 09:06 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectionist2 View Post

OK. Good point. Let's eliminate the 4K requirement.

What would be your primary recommendation and why?

Thank you.

I'm still trying to figure out what causes a signal to produce horizontal lines and I can't come up with a cause that is in the cable. Is the DVI output using HDCP?
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes.

Voltage drop?
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You will start to get lost lines, or parts of lines, when the error rate gets worse that what causes sparkles. If it gets worse, the screen may blank.

Let me change my original comment after thinking about it a bit. The best thing would be a certified high speed HDMI cable. There are no passive cables that will do the trick. It would have to be an certified high speed active HDMI cable. These are HDMI cables with built in equalization designed for the specific cable. These are beginning to show up on the market. They should handle any HDMI signal you can throw at them, including 4k at 8 bit color depth.

One would think think that there would be a plethora of devices that use fiber or Cat cable that would be as good, but most of them seem to be limited to 225 MHz clock rate, which is well below the HDMI maximum of 340 MHz. The lower clock rate can be problematic when running 3D, deep color, or in the future 4k. There is also the problem that Cat 5/6 cable is just not as good for the purpose as HDMI cable. It would take properly grounded Cat 7 cable to match HDMI cable performance.
Colm is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-09-2011, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Colm -

Thanks for your insight.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-10-2011, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
Northernmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I,m new to posting on the forum but have been lurking here for quite some time. I was recently looking for a similar solution and ended up trying the Atlona AT-HD4-100SR, while expensive this extender does everything it promises in my situation over 150ft cat 6 cabling.
Northernmax is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-10-2011, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perfectionist2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yesterday I was told that the problem might be the HDMI cable between my cable box and AVR.

Apparently some of the newer cable boxes are designed to be "hot" and deliver a higher voltage signal than spec to compensate for the poor grade cables most customers use. I'm using a high end cable which may be too much. So i've been instructed to try a lower end cable.

Sounds bizarre but the advice came from someone in the industry who is well respected so I suspect he's right.

I'll report back.
Perfectionist2 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-13-2012, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
ddbermuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
funny, i had the same issues recently (only 35') here on island and after using 4 different baluns, to no avail, ended up in Atlona's court. issue solved, and great tech support. now am using Rainbowfish hoping the fiber would canel any electrical crossover but stiil their claims of 500' or better dont involve an AVR in the mix. their testing must be source direct, so it's off i go to Atlona once more. moral of the story is stick to what works!!
ddbermuda is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off