HDMI Extender Issue, RJ-45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-17-2011, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently pre-wired my home for two hdmi extenders that use two Cat5e cables a piece to extend the inputs to my amp. The first hdmi extender works fine, but when I hooked up my Cat5 tester the other pair of Cat5's pin number 6 shows no connectivity. I replaced the RJ 45's at each end of the cable and tested them independent of any other component that could fail other than the cable. Needless to say, that HDMI extender will not work. I pulled the extender apart and it appears to use every pin from both Cat5's on the attached circuit board. The Cat 5's are in a location that is not easy to access, which is why I pre-wired them. Anyone have any suggestions on trouble shooting this? Like with 802.3, are their pins in the extenders that don't get used that I can swap no 6 with? Any help would be great. The extender I am using is a Monoprice unit Product ID: 6532. Sorry, I would post a link but AVS doesn't think I am cool enough yet. (I dont have 3 points.)
jranch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-17-2011, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jranch View Post

...are their pins in the extenders that don't get used that I can swap no 6 with?

No, AFAIK there aren't any spare pairs left. There are extenders that use only a single cable, though.

FWIW unless the cable was damaged during installation or later construction, the cable itself is likely not the culprit. It is more likely a termination problem.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-17-2011, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Some Dual wire Extenders will have a 'spare' pair - usually on the cable that carries the DDC rather than the cable carrying the Video signal.

As previously suggested a Single wire solution is a good option - units based around the HDBaseT chip set are rock solid - though costly!

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-17-2011, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

Some Dual wire Extenders will have a 'spare' pair...

Which ones Joe? Haven't noticed any yet, but I sure haven't seen every product.
Colm is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-18-2011, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 64
A fair few of the designs not carrying IR and or Optical will have a Spare pair in one of the cables.

I've seen folk use those pairs to carry power or IR from external devices.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off