100 foot HDMI Cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Desktop in other room, Wireless Keyboard and Mouse work from my Home Theater room, would like to run a 100 foot HDMI cable to the TV.

I will move the computer for a short time and check the TV with a short HDMI first to make sure it works. My goal is not to stream but to use it as a computer screen as I listen to CDs and do legal work.

No problem with ratio, refresh rates, will check for overscan when I move the computer in the HT room for a test to see if it will even work.


Likely need a repeater and 75- 100 foot of HDMI, reviews on Amazon are very mixed about what long cables work well and what do not.

QUESTION: Anyone doing this at 75 foot plus and if so and it works well name brand of cable, model, etc.

Want to keep the cost down but if I have to I would likely go up to $150-$200 (Would rather spend around $100.00) and us the extra money to update the real joy, the Audio and Video ends of the Home theater, no just a second work station. Above $200.00 and I will just go in the next room and use the computer and crank the CD's up but I lose the sweet spot.

Thanks.
Laika is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Supermatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If using a repeater, should you not be looking at 50 foot cables in lieu of 75 footers?

I will say this much - at 50 feet, there are only two cables that I can personally attest to working reliably: the Monoprice 2678 (22 awg silver plated 50'), and the Blue Jeans Belden Series 1. The Belden's a great value, the Monoprice an outrageous value.
Supermatch is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 04:41 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Other current threads in this forum are discussing this same issue. You might want to get some expert opinions from those threads.

I can add this, the lower the bandwidth of the HDMI transmissions, the better chance you have of getting a signal. In other words, 1080i and 720p have a better chance of working than 1080p/60.

Also, please keep in mind that even 50 foot of HDMI cable is outside of the HDMI spec. Doesn't mean it won't work, but it means there is a chance it won't work.

Going with a higher gauge cable will help. ALso I'm assuming Supermatch meant "outrageous value" in a very positive way for Monoprice. Their cables have all been reliable for my uses.
alk3997 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Supermatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct, I was implying that the Monoprice cable is veeeery tough to beat for the money.
Supermatch is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
And the BJC Series 1 is tough to beat at any price...
Colm is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermatch View Post

If using a repeater, should you not be looking at 50 foot cables in lieu of 75 footers?

I will say this much - at 50 feet, there are only two cables that I can personally attest to working reliably: the Monoprice 2678 (22 awg silver plated 50'), and the Blue Jeans Belden Series 1. The Belden's a great value, the Monoprice an outrageous value.

My problem is it's over a 50 foot run, I need to measure but I am in the 75' range at least as I have to go up and down then run the span of a room and a half, thanks though, I will measure and look into the cables you suggest.
Laika is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be running at the same rate as the computer monitor as I am told that will not tax the system with to resolutions as the HDMI auto puts out what the monitor is set for 1920 x 1080, thanks for the cable advice.

And if I am missing something where the HDMI can go a lower res without taxing the system, which is a workhorse, then I do not mind dumbing it down as I don't stream but use a stand alone WD-TV with HD's connected.

I just don't want to sink alot into this because it's just not worth it to me, $4000 on s sub, perhaps worth it, $200.00 on second video card and ad cable, not worth it.

I'm thinking repeaters should work on the length but I know Home theater but not PC to HD TV so I clearly might be wrong.


Any chance you could could point me to one of these threads, all I saw was 50' runs but did not read past the thread title.

Thanks!



Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Other current threads in this forum are discussing this same issue. You might want to get some expert opinions from those threads.

I can add this, the lower the bandwidth of the HDMI transmissions, the better chance you have of getting a signal. In other words, 1080i and 720p have a better chance of working than 1080p/60.

Also, please keep in mind that even 50 foot of HDMI cable is outside of the HDMI spec. Doesn't mean it won't work, but it means there is a chance it won't work.

Going with a higher gauge cable will help. ALso I'm assuming Supermatch meant "outrageous value" in a very positive way for Monoprice. Their cables have all been reliable for my uses.

Laika is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guess was wrong from running so much speaker cable years ago, 50' may do it, very close but I think I can force it, 60 foot would be perfect.
Laika is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 05:39 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laika View Post

My guess was wrong from running so much speaker cable years ago, 50' may do it, very close but I think I can force it, 60 foot would be perfect.

Yes, standard speeds for HDMI are used at 1080i / 720p which were the standard resolutions before 1080p came along into the spec.

If I were you, I'd try a really good cable first - you've gotten some good recommendations. If the cable doesn't work, any other solution I can think of will cost you over $200 except for using less bandwidth.
alk3997 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-22-2011, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Yes, standard speeds for HDMI are used at 1080i / 720p which were the standard resolutions before 1080p came along into the spec.

If I were you, I'd try a really good cable first - you've gotten some good recommendations. If the cable doesn't work, any other solution I can think of will cost you over $200 except for using less bandwidth.

Thanks, I am going to run string and see how short I can go, follow the recommendations and make sure get a fairly high end one I can return.
Laika is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-23-2011, 12:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Running a piece of string and running a 22AWG HDMI cable are very different matters - the HDMI cable is not flexible and won't go around tight corners; you can force them but eventually they tend to fail.

We see a lot of folk who have run long HDMI cables have in-life' problems with failing connectors - often damaged when folk are moving kit around for cleaning or kit upgrades.

Far more practical/likely to work if you install 2 x UTP, Solid Core CAT6 cables and add in a suitable set of HDMI over Twisted Pair Extenders - for 199 USD you can have a high quality set of Extenders that also offer an IR return path to your Source kit.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-23-2011, 08:41 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

...

Far more practical/likely to work if you install 2 x UTP, Solid Core CAT6 cables and add in a suitable set of HDMI over Twisted Pair Extenders - for 199 USD you can have a high quality set of Extenders that also offer an IR return path to your Source kit.

Joe

Joe, could you provide a brand/model for these? I'd like to add these to my list of potential solutions.
alk3997 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-23-2011, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Laika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Joe, could you provide a brand/model for these? I'd like to add these to my list of potential solutions.

Thanks, I second that, I'm a bit lost past the CAT 6, if it's a DYI that needs to be built perhaps a link to a schematic.


Thanks for the tip on the solid Cat 6, I was way wrong, did the string thing last night and am at 40 feet so I can do a gradual 90 with room to spare, in the past on such things I go get a PVC 3/4 inch conduit elbow and run a cable through there, nice 12 inch gradual bend, normally works well just hanging it around the bend but with the suspended ceiling I can mount it with a few conduit straps than put the panels back in to hid it.
Laika is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-23-2011, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Look for Octava Inc. - three options. HDMI + IR (dual CAT6), HDMI + IR + Optical ( dual CAT6) and HDMI + IR ( single CAT6 using HDBaseT). The 'Optical' unit can send or Receive IR and Optical to or from the remote zone - you set them up independently using Dip switches.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-23-2011, 05:00 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
Look for Octava Inc. - three options. HDMI + IR (dual CAT6), HDMI + IR + Optical ( dual CAT6) and HDMI + IR ( single CAT6 using HDBaseT). The 'Optical' unit can send or Receive IR and Optical to or from the remote zone - you set them up independently using Dip switches.

Joe
Thanks - I should have looked a bit deeper (past the matrix switchers) on their web site.

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20ethe...onverters.html

The final cost will actually be slightly above $200 when shipping and the two cables are included. But, at least Octava includes *both* power supplies so 120' is possible at 1080p/60 (or 3D).
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off