Recommendation for old setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 10-22-2011, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have an older mixed setup that I'm planning on adding a 1080p projector. Receiver does not have any hdmi input or outputs.

Current state, basically 3 inputs to LCD and 2 inputs to receiver
- cable, hdmi > 720p LCD, optical > receiver
- apple tv, hdmi > 720p LCD, optical > receiver
- DVD, component > 720p LCD
- DVD, optical > receiver

Future state, add blue ray player, 1080p projector
- cable, hdmi > switch?
- apple tv, hdmi > switch?
- Blueray, hdmi > switch?
- Switch > receiver
- switch > 720p LCD
- switch > 1080p projector

Is this possible to do without losing the 1080p signal and without having to buy a new receiver with lots of hdmi inputs or an expensive switch?

I'm new to this and would appeciate any direction.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-23-2011, 12:18 AM

Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by imserious View Post

So I have an older mixed setup that I'm planning on adding a 1080p projector. Receiver does not have any hdmi input or outputs.

Current state, basically 3 inputs to LCD and 2 inputs to receiver
- cable, hdmi > 720p LCD, optical > receiver
- apple tv, hdmi > 720p LCD, optical > receiver
- DVD, component > 720p LCD
- DVD, optical > receiver

Future state, add blue ray player, 1080p projector
- cable, hdmi > switch?
- apple tv, hdmi > switch?
- Blueray, hdmi > switch?
- Switch > receiver
- switch > 720p LCD
- switch > 1080p projector

Is this possible to do without losing the 1080p signal and without having to buy a new receiver with lots of hdmi inputs or an expensive switch?

I'm new to this and would appeciate any direction.

Thanks!