4x4 HDMI Matrix Switch for under $600 with EDID Management? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any 4x4 HDMI Matrix switches with EDID Management for under $600?

The Gefen 4x4 HDMI Toolbox looks nearly perfect for my needs but it's over $600 which seems expensive... (but so are most of the other HDMI Matrix Switches)

Is there anything else available?

I need 4x4 ports, 3D support, and EDID Management (ie. nothing fancy besides a "my device supports everything" EDID list)
sofakng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 06:58 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post

Are there any 4x4 HDMI Matrix switches with EDID Management for under $600?

The Gefen 4x4 HDMI Toolbox looks nearly perfect for my needs but it's over $600 which seems expensive... (but so are most of the other HDMI Matrix Switches)

Is there anything else available?

I need 4x4 ports, 3D support, and EDID Management (ie. nothing fancy besides a "my device supports everything" EDID list)

Try Octava. You may have to contact them directly to find out options if one TV is 3D capable and one is not.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!

Are there any distributors in the United States for them?
sofakng is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 08:35 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Octava USA,

http://www.octavainc.com/index.htm

My only complaint is that about once a month my 4x2 matrix will hang-up. I now recognize the symptom (confused output resolution showing up on devices) and just pull the DC adapter plug for 5 seconds and put the DC plug back in and everything works fine.

Not a big pain, just something to be aware about.
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the information.

It looks like it's $599 so it's basically the same price as the Gefen one...

Darn HDMI Matrix Switches are expensive!
sofakng is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 09:15 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post

Thanks for the information.

It looks like it's $599 so it's basically the same price as the Gefen one...

Darn HDMI Matrix Switches are expensive!

Which is why my big matrix switchers are all component video/digital audio switchers. Try a 16 x 8 HDMI matrix for an eye opener on price.
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting...

Is there a big difference in component versus HDMI? I've always thought that HDMI was much better...
sofakng is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 11-21-2011, 10:09 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post

Interesting...

Is there a big difference in component versus HDMI? I've always thought that HDMI was much better...

No - if you have decent component video cables and equipment. Basically, what comes into your home, whether by antenna or by shiny disc or by internet is digital. The question is where does it get converted to analog?

If you use component video it gets converted in the player. If you use HDMI it gets converted in the TV. Now the advantage that HDMI has is that you don't have to worry about interference that would plague a bad component signal (noise in the picture, washed out colors). But the way around that is to make sure your component video cabling is good.

Really I should have said that the setup of your TV settings can far outweigh the difference between HDMI and component. Back in the mid-2000s (so long ago) many people preferred component video over HDMI because the HDMI was sometimes not setup properly (usually too harsh).

On a 114" screen, I can't tell the difference (even with glasses on) between component 1080p and HDMI 1080p. And, yes, many devices will allow you to use 1080p on component. It isn't a physical limitation that prevent 1080p from going out on component cables but a liscensing limitation if HDMI is also included in the device.

So, your choice. Many devices won't let you send 1080p over component and you can only send 3D over HDMI. Cabling counts much more over component than over HDMI (where there are only two types of HDMI cables).
alk3997 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 04:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Try Octava. You may have to contact them directly to find out options if one TV is 3D capable and one is not.


Your advice is malpractice -those things do not work with 3d. I have one here for sale at liquidation.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #10 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have an HDMI Matrix Switch for sale?

I only see you selling a sound processor in the classifieds section...
sofakng is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 06:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I have the octava except not recommend for 3d, at least with Barco projector and lgtv.

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20matr...tch%204x4.html

edited it is the 4 x 4
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #12 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm... why doesn't it work for 3D?

I know I saw a post on here about upgrading the firmware to force 3D mode...
sofakng is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 49
tried it a year ago and packed it up then got crestron, and that is another long story.

From what I saw at cedia amx may have the best matrix out there at the moment.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #14 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 07:02 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Your advice is malpractice -those things do not work with 3d. I have one here for sale at liquidation.

...

tried it a year ago and packed it up then got crestron, and that is another long story.

From what I saw at cedia amx may have the best matrix out there at the moment.

Mr Malpractice, when you say things like it not working in 3D, you should maybe check out your facts first?? Yes??

I'm actually using one of the Octava's for 3D. With the newer firmware and hardware revision (which is what they sell now), it works in 3D. Here's proof from Octava's own ad,


http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20matr...x2%20port.html


Notice the 3D Blu-Ray logo on the ad. That means it works with Blu Rays in 3D. It also works with DirecTV in 3D, and PS3s in 3D.

So, next time, you should consider checking your facts first before accusing people of "malpractice" (whatever that would mean in this case?).

BTW, if Octava is out of his price-range, then a Crestron really is out of his price range.

Notice in all of the above words, I never once accused you of anything. Just offerred some helpful hints for the future. You might try that same tone next time you visit here.

Sorry your projector doesn't work right with the Octava (although I'll bet it is because you have/had an older Octava).
alk3997 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 07:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 49
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the older Octava's be upgraded via firmware?
sofakng is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 09:21 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I don't know that answer. Joe may know next time he checks the forum.

Best bet is to email or call Octava USA - see website for contact info. They'll likely want to know the revision number on the back of the unit.
alk3997 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 11-22-2011, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help...

I've sent a PM to Joe and e-mailed Octava.
sofakng is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off