Best hdmi cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Looking for a very good quality brand hdmi. Its for my sammy pn59d550, blue ray, & cable box. I've used the cheap brand. And pic quality is garbage. Which brand would You recommend? I've gone to best buy and they choose audio quest over monster. Anyone using audio quest brand cables?
joe801 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 182
If you are getting an image with those "cheap" cables, you won't see much of an improvement spending 10 times as much with the name brand cables. $5 cables are just as good as those $50 cables. Monoprice and blue jeans cables are excellent.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #3 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
There is a huge difference in pic quality for blue ray and playstation 3. My friends have the same tv as I do. They all have moster hdmi cables, And there pic quality is gorgeous compared to mine. Just to make sure. I switched mines over to there tv and blue ray. And its almost as if the cable can't handle it. I just don't want to spend over $100 like they did. But I still want a good quality cable.
joe801 is offline  
post #4 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
there could be a problem with your cable and or connection,but don't waste money on high dollar hdmi cables,check out monoprice cables.

Mark
qwknuf6 is offline  
post #5 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Do you have the exact same settings as your friend's tv? Is his calibrated? I have one expensive cable (belkin) and 3 cheap mono price cables. Can not tell any difference on my Pioneer. All produce an excellent picture.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #6 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just did, and wow! I just cant believe the huge price difference.
joe801 is offline  
post #7 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Do you have the exact same settings as your friend's tv? Is his calibrated? I have one expensive cable (belkin) and 3 cheap mono price cables. Can not tell any difference on my Pioneer. All produce an excellent picture.

It's not calibrated. i used the same setting as mine. The one that is a dead give away is when I'm on netflix. The top left corner, the pic quality keeps changing from low standard quality to medium. It never goes to full high def. That's when I started to question the hdmi cable.
joe801 is offline  
post #8 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
Jokerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Largest Out Door Show in Canada
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monoprice:

24AWG CL2 Silver Plated High Speed work really well for my setup. PS3, Apple TV through an Anthem MRX 500 to a Samsung 3D Plasma...video and audio is awesome...
Jokerboy is offline  
post #9 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

It's not calibrated. i used the same setting as mine. The one that is a dead give away is when I'm on netflix. The top left corner, the pic quality keeps changing from low standard quality to medium. It never goes to full high def. That's when I started to question the hdmi cable.

That may be related to your internet connection. Netflix automatically streams based on your connection. If it doesn't maintain a 6 Mbs download speed, it will drop out of HD.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #10 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

It's not calibrated. i used the same setting as mine. The one that is a dead give away is when I'm on netflix. The top left corner, the pic quality keeps changing from low standard quality to medium. It never goes to full high def. That's when I started to question the hdmi cable.

You are aware of how Netflix, and the Internet, works, right?
petern is offline  
post #11 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
As others have said, an HDMI cable either works or it doesn't. It's all 1's and 0's. There's no difference between a $3 cable and a $100 cable.
QuiGonJosh is online now  
post #12 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by petern View Post

You are aware of how Netflix, and the Internet, works, right?

I am well aware. Having 16mbps is fast enough for me. I am sure. My friends have even faster speed, due to there home business.
joe801 is offline  
post #13 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I started with monoprice but I ran into issues with the cables.I was dropping sync/picture. I switched to bluejeans and have been o.k. since. Just my .02
DaveN is offline  
post #14 of 60 Old 11-26-2011, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alpine, utah
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post

I started with monoprice but I ran into issues with the cables.I was dropping sync/picture. I switched to bluejeans and have been o.k. since. Just my .02

which model hdmi from monoprice did you have? I just ordered, premium 24awg high speed certified.
joe801 is offline  
post #15 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

I am well aware. Having 16mbps is fast enough for me. I am sure. My friends have even faster speed, due to there home business.

What device are you streaming Netflix through? Roku? Apple TV? Boxee? Wifi directly into tv? You will find out in a hurry, those devices are poor when it comes to actual streaming and how fast the download speeds are. Unless directly in sight of your wifi router, that 16 Mbs is probably not the actual speed that is making it to those devices or tv, unless directly wired via ethernet.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #16 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The mono price HDMI cable i ended up getting wasn't compatible with 1080p...i realised this once i hooked this up to my PS3. and I'm pretty sure it mentioned that it supported FULL HD during the time as well.

I ended up paying $16 for a 1080p HDMI cable at BB instead which worth perfectly. ;p At least with store bought HDMI cables they're reliable. and $16 doesn't hurt the bank either, unlike Sony's official PS3 HDMi cable....with the pretty ridiculous price tag.
WaveBoy is offline  
post #17 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 01:14 AM
Member
 
RandomName7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what the heck are you talking about? I've never heard of an HDMI cable that doesn't support 1080p. I think you are making stuff up.
RandomName7 is offline  
post #18 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
RayPaganJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased all four of my HDMI cables through Amazon and never had an issue with any of them. Quality is just great.
RayPaganJr is offline  
post #19 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 04:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

It's not calibrated. i used the same setting as mine. The one that is a dead give away is when I'm on netflix. The top left corner, the pic quality keeps changing from low standard quality to medium. It never goes to full high def. That's when I started to question the hdmi cable.

you should realize that there is no way that the hdmi cable can affect your download speeds... it can't, as there's no causal relationship between the two...

if you'd like to educate yourself a bit (and see why what others are telling you is correct), here's some reading for you...

click me for some reading about hdmi...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #20 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

which model hdmi from monoprice did you have? I just ordered, premium 24awg high speed certified.

I can't find my invoice as it was purchased a few years back but it was their best quality 25 foot cable. I also had a 3 foot of their best cable also go bad. I have bought an incredible amount of mono price audio and video cables and I never had an issue except with the hdmi cables.
DaveN is offline  
post #21 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dlplover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post

I can't find my invoice as it was purchased a few years back but it was their best quality 25 foot cable. I also had a 3 foot of their best cable also go bad. I have bought an incredible amount of mono price audio and video cables and I never had an issue except with the hdmi cables.

Did you ever contact them for replacement? Most of their cables carry lifetime warranty and they usually just ship you the replacement cable free of charge provided you're a regular and not like a habitual returner or "my cables are bad" caller. I've purchased several HDMI cables (at least 3-4) from them in the past and never had one go bad. I don't have any experience with their hdmi > 10', but if you had both go bad I would actually worry that there's something wrong with your a/v chain that's frying them and they're eating it rather than passing it on through to the hdmi controller.
dlplover is offline  
post #22 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 07:26 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe801 View Post

There is a huge difference in pic quality for blue ray and playstation 3. My friends have the same tv as I do. They all have moster hdmi cables, And there pic quality is gorgeous compared to mine. Just to make sure. I switched mines over to there tv and blue ray. And its almost as if the cable can't handle it. I just don't want to spend over $100 like they did. But I still want a good quality cable.

Where did you guys come from? It feels like Groundhog Day when I see a thread of this title.

First, if you are trying to make a point, your credibility goes way up if you properly spell blu-ray. It's amazing how many "experts" can't even spell the name "Blu-Ray".

Secondly the HDMI cable simply passes 1s and 0s. It is not a smart device that can change the 1s and 0s to make the picture better. How would it do that?

Finally, the HDMI specs are owned by the HDMI Org. They own the specs, they own the trademarks, they own the patents, they own HDMI. You can find their explanation of the two types of HDMI cables at:

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49

And, yes, there are only two types of HDMI cables - standard speed and high speed. At short distances both will work with 1080p/60 and 3D. At longer distances the standard speed cables *may* only work with 720/1080i.

And has been pointed out many times already, the HDMI cable does not change your download speed. It simply takes audio video signals and sends them to your TV/receiver. It does not decode the internet video stream.

And, finally, if you want to go waste your money on higher cost HDMI cables that do the exact same thing as the lower cost cables, you go right ahead and do that. It's your money and you may waste it anyway you see fit. I'd rather have a more expensive component that makes a difference. But, that's just me. I also think there are a few people out in this forum who, in the past, said that you could mail them the money instead.
alk3997 is offline  
post #23 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Where did you guys come from? It feels like Groundhog Day when I see a thread of this title.

First, if you are trying to make a point, your credibility goes way up if you properly spell blu-ray. It's amazing how many "experts" can't even spell the name "Blu-Ray".

Secondly the HDMI cable simply passes 1s and 0s. It is not a smart device that can change the 1s and 0s to make the picture better. How would it do that?

Finally, the HDMI specs are owned by the HDMI Org. They own the specs, they own the trademarks, they own the patents, they own HDMI. You can find their explanation of the two types of HDMI cables at:

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49

And, yes, there are only two types of HDMI cables - standard speed and high speed. At short distances both will work with 1080p/60 and 3D. At longer distances the standard speed cables *may* only work with 720/1080i.

And has been pointed out many times already, the HDMI cable does not change your download speed. It simply takes audio video signals and sends them to your TV/receiver. It does not decode the internet video stream.

And, finally, if you want to go waste your money on higher cost HDMI cables that do the exact same thing as the lower cost cables, you go right ahead and do that. It's your money and you may waste it anyway you see fit. I'd rather have a more expensive component that makes a difference. But, that's just me. I also think there are a few people out in this forum who, in the past, said that you could mail them the money instead.

+1


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #24 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
What HDMI cable should I buy?

"Let's cut to the chase:
CNET strongly recommends cheap HDMI cables widely available from online retailers instead of the expensive counterparts sold in your local electronics store.

Expensive cables aren't worth it
If you walk into your typical electronics store to buy an HDMI cable, you're likely to see prices upward of $50 with promises of better performance and faster speeds. Do you really need to spend that much money on a single HDMI cable?

Absolutely not--those cables are a rip-off. You should never pay more than $10 for a standard six-foot HDMI cable. And despite what salesmen and manufacturers might tell you, there's no meaningful difference between the $10 cable and the $50 cable."
Gandu is offline  
post #25 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlplover View Post

Did you ever contact them for replacement? Most of their cables carry lifetime warranty and they usually just ship you the replacement cable free of charge provided you're a regular and not like a habitual returner or "my cables are bad" caller. I've purchased several HDMI cables (at least 3-4) from them in the past and never had one go bad. I don't have any experience with their hdmi > 10', but if you had both go bad I would actually worry that there's something wrong with your a/v chain that's frying them and they're eating it rather than passing it on through to the hdmi controller.

I did not since I figured that the expense and time of shipping a cable back would not be worth it. I've spent hundreds of dollars with them and I have never had a warranty claim. Thanks for the info.
DaveN is offline  
post #26 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Where did you guys come from? It feels like Groundhog Day when I see a thread of this title.

What you should probably do is save your response as a text file so you can just copy and paste it about once a month when you see the thread title without having to read it I commend you on your patience.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #27 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 08:21 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

What you should probably do is save your response as a text file so you can just copy and paste it about once a month when you see the thread title without having to read it I commend you on your patience.

I appreciate Ian and your comments. It makes it worthwhile.

I only wish I got $1 each time I referenced the HDMI Org's FAQ :-)
alk3997 is offline  
post #28 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 186
In my humble opinion the 'Best HDMI Cable' has yet to be developed or produced. In the meantime, as a mere mortal, I'm willing to accept the premise that they are all about the same.
olyteddy is offline  
post #29 of 60 Old 11-27-2011, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

I appreciate Ian and your comments. It makes it worthwhile.

I only wish I got $1 each time I referenced the HDMI Org's FAQ :-)

Alas, an early retirement is not in your stars
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #30 of 60 Old 11-28-2011, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
kiwiokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Secondly the HDMI cable simply passes 1s and 0s. It is not a smart device that can change the 1s and 0s to make the picture better. How would it do that?

I have never opened up a cable but assume it is simply made of copper strands so how does an HDMI cable pass 1's and 0's if not through an electrical charge? If it is an electrical charge, (probably low voltage, low current with short bursts of varying voltage) why would that not be subject to the same reductions of voltage due to the resistance over the length of the cable and potentially poor slew rates as any other electrical charge passing down a copper strand? I thought both issues would result in some form of algorithmic error correction by the receiving device that could very well result in reduced picture or sound quality (perhaps data sent in packets with a header specifying number of bits in the packet and a check digit?). That would be consistent with the testing process in the link provided that determines if the cable meets type 1 or type 2 standards. I would guess that this is not a case of the cable either passing the test signal or it doesn't, rather the data loss over the length of the cable due to the issues mentioned above result in an unacceptable error rate by the receiving device sufficient to meet the type 1 or 2 designation. Hence a cable of 3ft may pass type 1 and 2 whereas a 20ft cable of the same design may only pass type 1. Happy to be edumacated on this.
kiwiokie is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off