HDMI maximum cable length? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-06-2011, 09:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read through many threads on here but I am an amateur so I probably overlooked he answer I am looking for. I want to run a HDMI cable from a HD Direct TV reciever to a LCD TV. The cable will need to be about 50" to reach. I saw threads where running HDMI cables to projectors but none to a LCD TV.
I have a FM signaling remote that works through a wall about 45 feet from the HD reciever. I was going to use it to signal a TV closer but have changed my mind if I can get a cable that will work. Thanks for any advise.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-07-2011, 01:27 AM

Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by olz442 View Post

I have read through many threads on here but I am an amateur so I probably overlooked he answer I am looking for. I want to run a HDMI cable from a HD Direct TV reciever to a LCD TV. The cable will need to be about 50" to reach. I saw threads where running HDMI cables to projectors but none to a LCD TV.
I have a FM signaling remote that works through a wall about 45 feet from the HD reciever. I was going to use it to signal a TV closer but have changed my mind if I can get a cable that will work. Thanks for any advise.

If you are using a DirecTV box and set your box to either 1080i or 720p, 50' (assume that is what you meant not 50") of Standard Speed HDMI cable will work. Make sure you get good gauge cabling (24 AWG or better). Since DirecTV's source is always 1080i or 720p (unlike Blu-Ray discs), you aren't going to lose any picture quality by not going to 1080p.

You can try to set the DirecTV receiver to 1080p and that might work. If 1080p doesn't work, you'll know it by either sparkles or lines or screens of a single color or no picture at all. Just go back to 1080i/720p. The only reason for 1080p would be some of the PPV channels require it.