The Unoffical source for everything HDBaseT - Page 9 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #241 of 247 Old 04-15-2015, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Anyone know of an HDMI CATx extender capable of doing UHD/60Hz at 4:4:4 chroma with full 18+ Gbps bandwidth?


Most everyone I find tops out at 10+ Gbps, which means UHD?6Hz at 4:2:0.


I'm looking for one that supports full ARC as well. ARC seems to be a missing feature of most extenders.
JaremyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 247 Old 05-19-2015, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
shepP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Can anyone recommend the best "brand" to look at for HDbaseT? I know monoprice has some but I'm guessing better quality solutions exist from other manufacturers.
shepP is online now  
post #243 of 247 Old 05-19-2015, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaremyP View Post
Anyone know of an HDMI CATx extender capable of doing UHD/60Hz at 4:4:4 chroma with full 18+ Gbps bandwidth?


Most everyone I find tops out at 10+ Gbps, which means UHD?6Hz at 4:2:0.


I'm looking for one that supports full ARC as well. ARC seems to be a missing feature of most extenders.
HDBT does not support ARC on any of their products. So, if you see any extender which supports ARC, then it is not HDBT.

Likewise, Valens has HDBT chipsets which support HDMI 1.4 and UHD in 4:2:0, but not in 4:4:4 according to their website...

http://www.valens.com/products/vs2310

Hopefully in the next year or so, we will see products which can handle a bit more.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #244 of 247 Old Yesterday, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
shepP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm looking for suggestions for equipment with two scenarios I'm working with.


1. At my house I need a matrix that will allow a minimum of 2 hdmi inputs - a satellite receiver and a media player (4 would be nice for future proofing). This will be located at a TV so I also need to send those 2 sources back to the TV. I then want to send the other two via cat6 to a 2nd TV location. In this scenario I also have a cat5e coming up from the basement theatre rack that would be awesome to tie in at some point for consoles in the rack however I also have an hdmi cable running the same path that I could also use.


2. Inlaws house. Cat6 to all TV locations (5 right now and maybe more later) which then terminate in an equipment closet in the basement. 2 Satellite receivers (1 for each floor of the house) to all locations eats up 2 inputs, maybe a bluray player or some other source down the line for a 3rd so a matrix will also be in order.


I know monoprice has great prices but I need 100% reliability without having to reset units every so often. I have also found in the past the hdmi switches I used degraded the picture quality (this might no longer be the case).
shepP is online now  
post #245 of 247 Old Yesterday, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
Sno Crash – as Andy says either centralise your games console and control it remotely or have it ‘in zone’ and potentially send back its Optical Out over a single CAT cable using a lower cost Optical over CAT extender.

HD over LAN (no matter who’s badge is on the box) has to compress the video signal – it’s not a show killer for Commercial applications or smaller TV's but it looks ‘unnatural’ on a larger TV if you are used to viewing non-compressed HDMI.

We have recently introduced our own solution and its being going well in the commercial market - http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI_extender_LAN_HDDSX.html

Joe

Your post was a couple of years ago, but I assume the product is still on the market. I want to send a signal from my home theater to my kitchen. Both rooms are connected through a router and with Ethernet switches. Can I plug your transmitter into the switch in the theater room and the receiver into the switch in the kitchen and from there to a TV, thereby receiving the same signal in both room simultaneously? The distance is less than 100 feet. Will the sound sync, or will there be a delay?
Alanlee is online now  
post #246 of 247 Old Today, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 80
HD over LAN is still best suited to Commercial applications - though I have seen it used in Residential, esp. where you have a connection to a 'smaller' (sub 50") TV.


HDBT is still preferred for Residential - though it does require a 'direct' connection between the Transmitter and Receiver and not routed though your Network.


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' us on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc
Joe Fernand is online now  
post #247 of 247 Unread Today, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
HD over LAN is still best suited to Commercial applications - though I have seen it used in Residential, esp. where you have a connection to a 'smaller' (sub 50") TV.


HDBT is still preferred for Residential - though it does require a 'direct' connection between the Transmitter and Receiver and not routed though your Network.


Joe

Thanks Joe - It is going to connect to a 48 inch TV and eventually to a back to back 38 inch TV. The line out would come from an AVR or a pre-pro. Now that I think about it, if I could put it on the network, I could send the signal all over the house with additional receivers to the bedroom and the patio because those TVS are also on the home network. Now what problems would I create for myself?
Alanlee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off