Conversion troubles- can anyone help me???!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2012, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Peter5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an unusual problem. I have a brand new TV and when I installed it I ran 2 hdmi cables in the wall. I patched up the wall and painted before realizing (stupidly) that my analog cable box does not have an hdmi output (the other cable was for my DVD player, and that works fine). So my two options are to a) tear up the wall again and run a coax cable, which is what I should of done when I had the chance or b) find an adapter to solve the problem. The outputs on my cable box are coax, s-video, and component (red, white and yellow). Coax would be my preference so that I could run an antenna later if I ditch the cable box. I bought an adapter that I thought was going to go from s-video to hdmi but the s-cable is output only, and the hdmi is input- I need the opposite direction. Option c would be to go hd tv, but I really don't want to pay another $10 a month. Please help me!
Peter5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2012, 09:57 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You really want to go to component video. I'd have a difficult time recommending anything using coax and even if I did, coax to hdmi would provide you one channel, not an antenna output capability.

Anyway, this is an example of converting component video (I'm sure there are cheaper versions available):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815158130
alk3997 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:45 AM
Member
 
LordSte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry this is a late response, but I just realized something. If you have Comcast cable, then this might help.

A while back, our non-HD cable box started flaking out. We called up Comcast and they said they'll send a different box out. When the new cable box arrived, it was a spiffy brand new one, never touched, and still had the plastic you have to peel off. It had HD outputs on it including HDMI. I was concerned that they accidentally added HD service to my account (which we did not want to pay for). Anyway, I hooked it up with a single HDMI cable to my brother's 65in Mitsubishi. All the standard definition channels come through and the HD channels say that you need to order HD service. Perfect, exactly what I wanted.

If you can find a way to get that newer cable box (with the HDMI) without upgrading to HD service, then you'd be all set.
LordSte is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off