Connect 2 order new 35 ft hdmi cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2012, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wriley1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a high speed 25 ft hdmi cable but am in need of about 32 ft. If I just add a 10 ft cable could that work for 1080p and 3d or do I order a good 35 ft cable. I am running it from my 3d tv to my marantz av receiver.

I appreciate any advice
wriley1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2012, 11:45 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by wriley1 View Post

I have a high speed 25 ft hdmi cable but am in need of about 32 ft. If I just add a 10 ft cable could that work for 1080p and 3d or do I order a good 35 ft cable. I am running it from my 3d tv to my marantz av receiver.

I appreciate any advice

Everything being equal, adding a 10 foot high speed cable should work. Make sure the gauge is fairly high. Of course, there are no guarantees so make sure you have a good return policy at the store. If it doesn't work, it will be obvious not subtle.
alk3997 is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Just be aware that a 25' high speed HDMI cable plus a 10' high speed HDMI cable does not equal a 35' high speed HDMI cable. All other things being equal, the longer the cable, the lower the bit rate it will support. But you ought to be able to do 1080p60 2D or 1080p24 3D at standard color depth at that length with good cables.
Colm is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
charlievoviii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a question for you experts. I have my 3D blu ray player hook to my receiver that have 1.4A, I need to run about 35-40feet of hdmi cable from my AV receiver to my Epson 5010 3d projector that's also have 1.4A. I want the best picture reserve without any lost, like deep color and not loosing any bits. So my question what's the best way of doing this ? do i get two hdmi cables and a hdmi extender/repeater box ? Any brand of cables you guys recommend without killing my bank account lol. thanks in advance.
charlievoviii is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 12:40 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
If it were me, I'd start by reading this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1395991

And, why do you want deep color enabled?
alk3997 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off