Laptop to LCD TV via HDMI not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
looroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and hope someone can help, I have a Samsung laptop (details below) with a HDMI port and I recently purchased a 32" BUSH LCD TV and a Belkin HDMI cable. When I connect the Laptop to the TV via the HDMI cable nothing happens :/ . It works fine when I connect using a VGA cable but neither the laptop nor the TV show any sign of recognising the other when connected by HDMI cable.

Below I have listed the full spec of the laptop and TV, if anyone requires any more information I'd be happy to provide it.

Kind Regards


Liam

Laptop details:
Model No: Samsung NP-R510-FAA2UK
OS: Vista Home premium SP 2
Processor: Intel Core2 Duo T5750 @ 2.00GHz
Ram: 4GB

Graphics Card:
Chip Type: Mobile Intel(R) 4 series Express Chipset Family
Adapter String: Mobile Intel(R) GMA 4500 MHD
Driver Date: 11/02/2011
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2302

TV Details:
Type: Bush 32" LCD
Model #:BLCD32HB
looroll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 09:43 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by looroll View Post

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and hope someone can help, I have a Samsung laptop (details below) with a HDMI port and I recently purchased a 32" BUSH LCD TV and a Belkin HDMI cable. When I connect the Laptop to the TV via the HDMI cable nothing happens :/ . It works fine when I connect using a VGA cable but neither the laptop nor the TV show any sign of recognising the other when connected by HDMI cable.

Below I have listed the full spec of the laptop and TV, if anyone requires any more information I'd be happy to provide it.

Kind Regards


Liam

Laptop details:
Model No: Samsung NP-R510-FAA2UK
OS: Vista Home premium SP 2
Processor: Intel Core2 Duo T5750 @ 2.00GHz
Ram: 4GB

Graphics Card:
Chip Type: Mobile Intel(R) 4 series Express Chipset Family
Adapter String: Mobile Intel(R) GMA 4500 MHD
Driver Date: 11/02/2011
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2302

TV Details:
Type: Bush 32" LCD
Model #:BLCD32HB

Welcome to the AVS Forum! The first thing to look at is whether you have the HDMI port enabled on the laptop. Check your laptop video settings and make sure that HDMI is enabled.

If that doesn't work, let us know.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
looroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Welcome to the AVS Forum! The first thing to look at is whether you have the HDMI port enabled on the laptop. Check your laptop video settings and make sure that HDMI is enabled.

If that doesn't work, let us know.

Hi Andy,

Thanks for getting back to me, I've had a look around at all the usual settings on the control panel in "personalise" but for the life of me I cant see any settings for the HDMI port (It def has one though lol). I have even searched for HDMI in search and downloaded the latest drivers for the graphics card from Samsung support.

Any Ideas?

Liam
looroll is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Does the HDMI port on the tv need to be "labeled" PC? I know on some tv's you can change the name of the HDMI port which will allow easier use. When we connect our MBP via mini-HDMI to HDMI on the LG I have that particular port label changed to PC and it works perfectly, like a very large external monitor.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
looroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Otto, unfortunately the TV is on the budget side of things so no fancy renaming option lol, I'm going to take the HDMI cable and get exchanged to rule out that it's not faulty. After that It's time to rule out the never before used HDMI port on the laptop. Cheers

Liam
looroll is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-08-2012, 01:52 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by looroll View Post

Hi Otto, unfortunately the TV is on the budget side of things so no fancy renaming option lol, I'm going to take the HDMI cable and get exchanged to rule out that it's not faulty. After that It's time to rule out the never before used HDMI port on the laptop. Cheers

Liam

You can rule out the cable quicker by connecting that cable to a different source component that has an HDMI output.
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-08-2012, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 61
You normally have to toggle the external video port on the Laptop on/off using Fn + F7 or some other keyboard combination.

Look for a 'monitor' Icon on one of your 'F' buttons.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-12-2012, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
looroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone sorry for the delay,

** The laptop is the only thing I own that has a HDMI port :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post

Keep us posted

So, I got the HDMI cable replaced today for another new one. Still the same problem though :/ Its also a brand new TV is it likely to be a fault with the TV or the HDMI port on the Laptop?

Liam
looroll is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-12-2012, 09:37 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by looroll View Post

Hi Everyone sorry for the delay,

** The laptop is the only thing I own that has a HDMI port :/



So, I got the HDMI cable replaced today for another new one. Still the same problem though :/ Its also a brand new TV is it likely to be a fault with the TV or the HDMI port on the Laptop?

Liam

I would not have expected a new cable to fix the problem. Joe is correct in that unless you enable the HDMI port with an Fn key combo, the port will be dead. Basically most laptops toggle from laptop display only to external display only to both displays simultaneous and then back to the beginning.
alk3997 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-27-2013, 04:52 AM
Newbie
 
Tinman1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi , if you haven't resolved the " laptop to TV via HDMI " this might help . I have a Samsung RV511 Notebook and to connect it to the TV , I type HDMI into the "start search box" then select "connect to a projector" . This will then give you four option windows ........

COMPUTER ....................DUPLICATE..............EXTEND.............PROJECTOR ONLY .

Hopefully your laptop will be similar.

Just click whichever you want , that should put your laptop picture through to the TV via HDMI,
There's probably other ways via the control panel as well .

Regards Tinman
Tinman1952 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off