What should I look for in an HDMI cable ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have a 3D tv - do I need a certain kind?
I see these gold plated ones ? Monster etc ? Is there a best brand ?

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10240

Get a "high speed" cable.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 07:42 AM
Member
 
thewayout2217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brand does not matter. There is no visible difference between a $50 monster HDMI or one of those $2 ones. Get the cheapest one there is. Dont pay more than like $8 in store for one if you dont want to wait to have it shipped.
thewayout2217 is offline  
post #4 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Make sure you don't buy anything shorter than 4'.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #5 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by saeyedoc View Post

Make sure you don't buy anything shorter than 4'.

There's a head scratcher.
Why???
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I was told that you can have problems with the HDMI handshake with shorter ones. I saw some posts on this forum and verified it with tech support at Monoprice.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #7 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
HDMI version 1.4/1.4a supports Stereoscopic 3D and 4K x 2K resolution.


hdmi - Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI


hdmi.org
http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdm...i_1_4_faq.aspx
8mile13 is offline  
post #8 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
That's odd. If that were a problem, why sell HDMI cable shorter than 4'.
Ratman is offline  
post #9 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mile13 View Post

HDMI version 1.4/1.4a supports Stereoscopic 3D and 4K x 2K resolution.

HDMI "versions" 1.4 refer to the source/destination hardware... not the cable itself. As recommended previously, all that is required is a "high speed" HDMI cable.

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdm...ght_cable.aspx
Ratman is offline  
post #10 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Very cool - Thanx

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
post #11 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman; View Post

HDMI "versions" 1.4 refer to the source/destination hardware... not the cable itself. As recommended previously, all that is required is a "high speed" HDMI cable.

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdm...ght_cable.aspx

1.3 versions are also ''high speed'' but - 1.3 versions do not support Stereoscopic 3D and 4K x 2K resolution according to the Wikipedialink. So you could buy some (former 1.3) ''high speed'' cable and find out at the house that 3D doesn't work with this cable.
8mile13 is offline  
post #12 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Should I trust mono price ?

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
post #13 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
ozar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Should I trust mono price ?

Absolutely... that's where all my cables and wiring come from and I've never had any problems with their stuff, but always great quality and prices. Shipping is fast and well packaged, too.

oz
ozar is offline  
post #14 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BoilerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 6,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Should I trust mono price ?

Definitely yes. Great cables at a low price (also an AVS Forum sponsor).

I also like "Cables on Demand" (cablesondemand.com). They sell Amphenol cables, a well-respected brand as well.
BoilerJim is offline  
post #15 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
ozar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 57
...oh, and another good thing about monoprice is their knowledge database regarding their products and the instructional videos that they offer to help purchasers.

oz
ozar is offline  
post #16 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mile13 View Post

1.3 versions are also ''high speed'' but - 1.3 versions do not support Stereoscopic 3D and 4K x 2K resolution according to the Wikipedialink. So you could buy some (former 1.3) ''high speed'' cable and find out at the house that 3D doesn't work with this cable.

Re-read all of the FAQ's and info from Monoprice and the links you provided.

There is "standard speed" and "high speed". Also... HDMI cables cannot be packaged/advertised as 1.3 or 1.4 etc. This was done to avoid "confusion". Apparently, that didn't work well.

The only caveat is if you require an "ethernet" HDMI cable. Then, you need to purchase one designated as "ethernet". The only problem with that is... are there any TV's/receivers/devices that support ethernet over HDMI?

EDIT:
From the wiki link
Quote:


As of the HDMI 1.4 specification, these are the following cable types defined for HDMI in general:[71][72]

Standard HDMI Cable – up to 1080i and 720p
Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet
Automotive HDMI Cable
High Speed HDMI Cable – 1080p, 4K, 3D and deep color
High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet

Ratman is offline  
post #17 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
greenjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

That's odd. If that were a problem, why sell HDMI cable shorter than 4'.

No problems per se with shorter cables. I think the advice is intended to avoid the problem of a too-short cable. 4' is less than you think when you're routing the cable from the box, out the back of a cabinet/shelving/etc up and around to the TV. A 6' cable may be a safer bet and minimally more expensive.

jeff
greenjp is offline  
post #18 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenjp View Post

No problems per se with shorter cables. I think the advice is intended to avoid the problem of a too-short cable. 4' is less than you think when you're routing the cable from the box, out the back of a cabinet/shelving/etc up and around to the TV. A 6' cable may be a safer bet and minimally more expensive.

jeff

No, this was a specific recommendation from Monoprice regarding communication issues. Damn, they stuck me for an extra $1 for the longer ones lol. I wish they had told me 6' minimum, the 4's are too short anyway.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #19 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenjp View Post

No problems per se with shorter cables. I think the advice is intended to avoid the problem of a too-short cable. 4' is less than you think when you're routing the cable from the box, out the back of a cabinet/shelving/etc up and around to the TV. A 6' cable may be a safer bet and minimally more expensive.

jeff

That's fine and good advice. We need to differentiate between a "technical" issue or a "common sense" issue.
Ratman is offline  
post #20 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Am I reading correct that different hdmi will do 1080p?

So a regular wire doesn't do full 1080p?

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
post #21 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

There's a head scratcher.
Why???

Quote:
Originally Posted by saeyedoc View Post

I was told that you can have problems with the HDMI handshake with shorter ones. I saw some posts on this forum and verified it with tech support at Monoprice.

I had trouble with 18" HDMI cables with my switch and 3D and Blu Ray content. The longer cables seem to work just fine.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #22 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenjp View Post

No problems per se with shorter cables. I think the advice is intended to avoid the problem of a too-short cable. 4' is less than you think when you're routing the cable from the box, out the back of a cabinet/shelving/etc up and around to the TV. A 6' cable may be a safer bet and minimally more expensive.

jeff

I had a HDMI switch and a couple 18" cables going to my receiver. I RMA'd the switch, before coming to the realization it was the short cables. I only had trouble with 3D or Blu-Ray content.

And FWIW Monoprice put the 4' minimum warning up on the switch page not too long thereafter.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #23 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Using a "switch" is not the same as using a 4' or < HDMI cable. Consider that a "switch" or perhaps other components may act as a repeater or signal regenerator, boosting the signal(s). Not the same IMHO...

To the OP:
Read the info in the links and recommendations. "High Speed" HDMI cables will carry 1080P and 3D info and everything you desire.
Ratman is offline  
post #24 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Re-read all of the FAQ's and info from Monoprice and the links you provided.

There is "standard speed" and "high speed". Also... HDMI cables cannot be packaged/advertised as 1.3 or 1.4 etc. This was done to avoid "confusion". Apparently, that didn't work well.

The only caveat is if you require an "ethernet" HDMI cable. Then, you need to purchase one designated as "ethernet". The only problem with that is... are there any TV's/receivers/devices that support ethernet over HDMI?

EDIT:
From the wiki link

seems that only (former) version 1.4 and above is ''high speed''.
8mile13 is offline  
post #25 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 05:28 PM
Member
 
plasmalvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One website for all your cable needs: www.monoprice.com. Expensive cables don't improve picture or audio quality- anything that the human eye or ear can perceive.

Monster Cables should have a big sign in the lobby of their headquarters that says, "A Sucker Born Every Day"- stealing a quote from P.T. Barnum

Pioneer Elite Pro-1120 HD Plasma with Cable Card
Chief Wall Mount Bracket
Paradigm Mini Monitor L/R Front, CC-170 Center, AMS-100 L/R Rear Speakers, and PS-1000 Subwoofer.
Denon AVR-2800 Receiver
plasmalvr is offline  
post #26 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmalvr View Post

One website for all your cable needs: www.monoprice.com. Expensive cables don't improve picture or audio quality- anything that the human eye or ear can perceive.

Monster Cables should have a big sign in the lobby of their headquarters that says, "A Sucker Born Every Day"- stealing a quote from P.T. Barnum

I agree about the "M" brand, and I'm not talking about Monoprice. For most of us, a High Speed HDMI cable that comes with a certificate (which should specify length as well) is all we need. Ethernet is superfluous as is ARC (for a lot of people). If you get cables with those that's fine. It won't hurt anything. The HDMI version numbers are for hardware, not the cable. A certified High Speed cable will work fine with hardware version 1.3a, etc. Another good brand of cable is MediaBridge. If you're installing your cable run in a wall, there are a couple of other things to consider but that has more to do with shielding than type.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #27 of 45 Old 02-28-2012, 07:43 PM
Member
 
thewayout2217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Am I reading correct that different hdmi will do 1080p?

So a regular wire doesn't do full 1080p?

Yes that is correct. Components only handle 1080i/720p. Hdmi is the only cable that can handle 1080p
thewayout2217 is offline  
post #28 of 45 Old 02-29-2012, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

Should I trust mono price ?

With your life!
joed32 is offline  
post #29 of 45 Old 02-29-2012, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Jben04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive just recently purchased a HDMI cable from mono price,excellent price as well as damn fast shipping....
my only thing is that the one i purchased is quite stiff,,("6ft 24AWG CL2 Flat High Speed HDMI Cable With Ethernet ")

,as i have a lg LW5600, the HDMI port is on the side and my BD player is situated under the TV ,,seems the cable is pulling down on the weight of itself. just hope it doesnt cause a problem,...with that in mind im ordering more from monoprice next week
Jben04 is offline  
post #30 of 45 Old 02-29-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jben04 View Post

Ive just recently purchased a HDMI cable from mono price,excellent price as well as damn fast shipping....
my only thing is that the one i purchased is quite stiff,,("6ft 24AWG CL2 Flat High Speed HDMI Cable With Ethernet ")

,as i have a lg LW5600, the HDMI port is on the side and my BD player is situated under the TV ,,seems the cable is pulling down on the weight of itself. just hope it doesnt cause a problem,...with that in mind im ordering more from monoprice next week

Usually those flat CL2 cables are for wall installations where there will be minimal bending. I had cables like that a long time ago but replaced them for the "round" type that has a little more flexibility and don't stress the connectors. Ethernet is ok but you don't really need it so I'd suggest getting certified High Speed cables without enet unless there isn't a price difference.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off