Apple tv blinking on and off - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-29-2012, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rsijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Installed an apple tv back in october on a display using a 100ft HDMI. worked fine untill recently. Now the image blinks on and off the screen every second or so. Wondering if HDCP has anything to do with this, or maybe the length. Maybe a recent update did something. DiecTv box has no issues on the same cable.
rsijoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-29-2012, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SolidSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HQ Detroit Metro
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think you're probably right about the cable. Any chance of moving it closer to the TV just to check?

SS@SolidSignal
SolidSignal is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-29-2012, 09:04 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsijoe View Post

Installed an apple tv back in october on a display using a 100ft HDMI. worked fine untill recently. Now the image blinks on and off the screen every second or so. Wondering if HDCP has anything to do with this, or maybe the length. Maybe a recent update did something. DiecTv box has no issues on the same cable.

It's much more likely to be the length than any HDCP problem. Your bits aren't making it across the cable correctly.

One thing to check is to make sure you didn't accidentally change the output resolution on the Apple TV to a higher bit rate (like going from 1080i to 1080p). DirecTV box would likely be 1080i/720p.
alk3997 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-29-2012, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
SolidSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HQ Detroit Metro
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I may be wrong but I think the AppleTV (2010/2011 model) maxes out at 720p.

SS@SolidSignal
SolidSignal is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-03-2012, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 61
100' cable - way outside the HDMI reliable 'envelope'.

How often are you swapping Source devices and are you powering the kit Off at the wall when making changes?

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off