Do I need a new TV? (HDMI input question) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-04-2012, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
golfwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased an LCD 6 years ago and it has one HDMI input. Currently I use it for my HD cable box. I have an older DVD player with the old yellow, red, white cables, but it's on the fritz.

I want to get one of those new DVD players with streaming capabilities (netflix, etc...) built in, but they seem to have HDMI outputs.

Since I only have one HDMI input is there anything that can be done? I've seen HDMI splitters, but I would think I need both the cable box and DVD player on at the same time, or am I mis-informed. Is that even an option or should I just get a new TV with multiple HDMI inputs?

Spliiters are pretty cheap so even if the splitter option is viable, I could do $100 for the DVD player or get a new TV with the streaming WIFI built in for $500 and just use Netflix over the DVD player.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks!
golfwolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-04-2012, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Your cable box is most likely limited to 1080i and would be fine if hooked up via component (red, green and blue inputs) plus an optical cable for audio. Go to the monoprice website for food, inexpensive cables if you can't find any locally. Then use HDMI for your new player. Less expensive than a new TV.
Ovation is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-04-2012, 11:15 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovation View Post

Your cable box is most likely limited to 1080i and would be fine if hooked up via component (red, green and blue inputs) plus an optical cable for audio. Go to the monoprice website for food, inexpensive cables if you can't find any locally. Then use HDMI for your new player. Less expensive than a new TV.

Agree 100%. Component video won't lose any quality with a cable box. Use that and the optical (or coax) digital audio output of the cable box.

I didn't know Monoprice sold food??!! :-)
alk3997 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-04-2012, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Damn tiny keyboard on my iPhone. I meant "good".
Ovation is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off