Wireless HDMI 101 (rookie) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 32 Old 03-07-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I am a rookie when it comes to wireless HDMI. Here is my situation- 8 year old projection TV died so its time to go plasma/led but I want to minimize my wires which leads me to wireless HDMI. I still intend to keep the components within the same area.
1) Are the wireless HDMI products TV specific or can they be used on any new TV?
2) I have a Blueray player, surround sound equipment, Xbox, and WII

What are my best options and/or limitations? Please help me figure this out!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 03-07-2012, 05:15 PM

Liked: 87
First thing you should know is that wireless HDMI is not a standard. The broadcast methods are standards but the underlying signal encoding isn't. So each manufacturer has their own methods.

Some require line of sight (check reviews) others compress the video or can't handle every type of audio. Read carefully before choosing since not al manufacturers state their limitations.

Also a recent thread had a long discussion of audio/video delays where the audio would not sync with the video using a Rocketfish wireless HDMI system.
post #3 of 32 Old 03-07-2012, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

First thing you should know is that wireless HDMI is not a standard. The broadcast methods are standards but the underlying signal encoding isn't. So each manufacturer has their own methods.

Some require line of sight (check reviews) others compress the video or can't handle every type of audio. Read carefully before choosing since not al manufacturers state their limitations.

Thanks. I thought that the HDMI output on all TV's is the same meeting a standard. So what you are saying is that the transmitters/receivers all work to their own vendor specification? Any recommendations?