Can ARC Issues be Caused by Cables - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Macmacabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic VT30 and an Onkyo TX-NR609. Everything was working great, and then I moved the whole setup to a new tv stand. Now everything works great except the ARC.

My xbox and PS3 are connected through the receiver and work fine. The TV still detects and communicates with the receiver, too. The TV automatically turns off the internal speakers and disables all tv related audio settings. Adjusting the volume on the TV remote adjusts the volume on the receiver, but the audio just doesn't work.

As a work-around, I have installed an optical cable and switched over the receiver to use that, which works, but I would really rather just use the ARC that was already working in another location. This makes me wonder if it is possible that there is a problem with the data line using the ARC? Or does anyone else have any thoughts on what could cause this?

Thanks!
Macmacabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
If you haven't already, you might want to try a high speed with ethernet HDMI cable. Although any HDMI cable is supposed to be able to support ARC, the former is actually designed for the purpose. It might make a difference on longer runs.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
so you are saying that the only thing you changed is the TV stand... all the cabling is exactly the same (including you didn't swap one cable for another say "to receiver" or "to tv").... interesting.... wonder if there is a market for TV stand "friendly" HDMI cables... :-)
budwich is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 06:36 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macmacabre View Post

I have a Panasonic VT30 and an Onkyo TX-NR609. Everything was working great, and then I moved the whole setup to a new tv stand. Now everything works great except the ARC.

My xbox and PS3 are connected through the receiver and work fine. The TV still detects and communicates with the receiver, too. The TV automatically turns off the internal speakers and disables all tv related audio settings. Adjusting the volume on the TV remote adjusts the volume on the receiver, but the audio just doesn't work.

As a work-around, I have installed an optical cable and switched over the receiver to use that, which works, but I would really rather just use the ARC that was already working in another location. This makes me wonder if it is possible that there is a problem with the data line using the ARC? Or does anyone else have any thoughts on what could cause this?

Thanks!

By any chance, while you were moving things around did you unplug the receiver? What it sounds like is that the setting on that input got changed from ARC to regular HDMI (or one of the analog inputs). The signals are still getting to the receiver (the volume knob changes position) but the receiver is now sending out a different audio input with nothing attached to the input. The receiver settings for that input have to be set to ARC.
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-21-2012, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Arcticbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple ideas
1) check if HDMI cable it plug in to the TV's HDMI port that supports ARC
2) go to TV's setting, and make sure the CEC is turn ON
Arcticbear84 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-22-2012, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
Paul JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an LG 42LW500T But I cant get the ARC to work with my Panasonic blu ray home cinema BTT270. The panasonic shows ARC on the display and the tv has ARC set to ON but no sound at all? Any ideas?
Paul JB is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-22-2012, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
Paul JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope this is the place to be for this question sorry if not!
Paul JB is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-22-2012, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul JB View Post

I have an LG 42LW500T But I cant get the ARC to work with my Panasonic blu ray home cinema BTT270. The panasonic shows ARC on the display and the tv has ARC set to ON but no sound at all? Any ideas?

Is there a specific HDMI input/output on the Panasonic for ARC that you missed?
Otto Pylot is online now  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off