HDMI cable - XBOX 360 compatibility problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-29-2012, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I bought this cable:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...E:L:OC:US:3160

When I connect it to my XBOX 360 the screen is blank. When I connect the cable to another HDMI equipment it works, and when I connect the XBOX using another cable it also works, therefore both the cable and XBOX are OK. Could this be some compatibility problem between the XBOX and the cable? How can I fix it?

Thanks.
hagai_sela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-29-2012, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Did you have the XBox set up before but using some other method than HDMI? Might need to reset the console to default settings:

http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-3...22a83ada88600f

My old Xbox cable also had a switch on it to select HD or non-HD, so you can check for that as well.
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-30-2012, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, the XBOX was connected via my other HDMI cable.
hagai_sela is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 04-30-2012, 02:02 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagai_sela View Post

No, the XBOX was connected via my other HDMI cable.

In that case I'd have to guess you got a counterfeit or defective cable. eBay is known to have counterfeit HDMI cables. Not knowing the other devices you are using, I can't say for sure but it could be that your Xbox output is a greater bandwidth than the other devices. Your cable can't handle the increased bandwidth.
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-01-2012, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way I can check if it's counterfeit? maybe connect a streamer or a PC and stream 1080P videos?
hagai_sela is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-01-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I played with the settings. When setting the XBOX to 1080I everything works. When I set it to 1080p the screen goes blank.
I also tried to connect my laptop via HDMI and play an 1080p 3d movie. It played it without any problems.
Does any of this mean that the cable is counterfeit?
hagai_sela is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-01-2012, 12:52 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagai_sela View Post

I played with the settings. When setting the XBOX to 1080I everything works. When I set it to 1080p the screen goes blank.
I also tried to connect my laptop via HDMI and play an 1080p 3d movie. It played it without any problems.
Does any of this mean that the cable is counterfeit?

It means basically your cable can't handle anything but 1080i/720p. So, if you purchased it as a high speed cable, then likely yes. If you purchased it as a standard speed cable, then it is what was advertised (and nothing more).

eBay is a tough place to purchase HDMI cables from the problems we've read about here.
alk3997 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-01-2012, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's supposed to be HDMI 1.4 compliant... I guess it's not.
hagai_sela is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-01-2012, 02:43 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagai_sela View Post

It's supposed to be HDMI 1.4 compliant... I guess it's not.

That actually should have been your first warning sign. Cables do not use HDMI version numbers. They are simply "High Speed" or "Standard Speed" - with a few options. Manufacturers that are licensed by HDMI are aware of these requirements.

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49

http://www.hdmi.org/press/press_release.aspx?prid=114
alk3997 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-02-2012, 01:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
Do you have any recommendations about an online retailer selling high speed cables that ships internationally?
hagai_sela is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-02-2012, 09:44 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagai_sela View Post

Thanks.
Do you have any recommendations about an online retailer selling high speed cables that ships internationally?

We usually recommend Monoprice and Blue Jeans Cable but I have no idea about their international shipping policies. You may have to check their websites.
alk3997 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-02-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hagai_sela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both have very high international shipping rates. Thanks anyway.
hagai_sela is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off