HDMI or cat6 cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 29 Old 06-24-2012, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys
I'm a newbie on on this audio video stuff. We're building a new house so want to get a multi room a/v setup. Still in the early stages so have chatted to a a/v installer and he recommend to go HDMI rather than cat6. The longest stretch will be about 70m from the media room to the main bedroom. But I've read that most systems use cat6 cables. So is he correct? I know there could be HDMI handshake issues with a lot of components too.

So what is the best route to take?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 06-24-2012, 02:01 PM

Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrobum View Post

Hi guys
I'm a newbie on on this audio video stuff. We're building a new house so want to get a multi room a/v setup. Still in the early stages so have chatted to a a/v installer and he recommend to go HDMI rather than cat6. The longest stretch will be about 70m from the media room to the main bedroom. But I've read that most systems use cat6 cables. So is he correct? I know there could be HDMI handshake issues with a lot of components too.
So what is the best route to take?
Thanks!

Ask your installer what they are going to use for the ~210 foot run. If they recommend regular HDMI cable, find another installer. You need cat 5e/6 conversion, HDBaseT conversion, an active HDMI cable or fiber optic. Also check out the brand of cable they are using. If it starts with Monster, then run for the door and don't look back.

Also keep in mind that HDMI switchers are (or should be) the expensive part of the setup, if you want anything that is marginally complicated. An 8x8 matrix switcher will be in the thousands. Also most of these expensive switchers have conversion to cat6 built-in.

Good luck.. Don't be afraid to do exactly like you are doing and question what they say. It is your money, after all.