New House - Component Cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 07-25-2012, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
natter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved into a house and the previous owner installed a component cable from the closet in the bonus room to where the tv goes. It goes into the wall and somehow makes it out by the tv. My first idea was going pull that component cable out and replace it with two HDMI cables in case one goes bad.

After playing with it, I realized that this task was going to be a lot harder than I originally thought. So, my next choice is trying to purchase a HDMI --> Component from my Sony receiver to the Sony TV and just use the component inputs on the TV.

Should I go for the $40 converter? http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011410&p_id=8125&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

I'm just worried the picture quality will look like crap.

Thanks for any replies,
Eric
natter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 07-26-2012, 01:01 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I think if you read through their customer reviews, you'll get a pretty good idea of what the picture will look like.

Usually these devices don't stay on the market long. This may be surviving because it can't do 1080p (although 1080i/720p are still protected modes).
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off