HDMI 1-in, 2-out Switch - Worked on one AVR, Not working on Another? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-26-2012, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had a Monoprice 2 ports HDMI Splitter (powered) working well on my Onkyo 607. I was using it to send a video signal out to my projector or my plasma (It would even show both at once, not that I ever wanted to do that).

The HDMI on the Onkyo kicked out, as they always do, so I upgraded to the Yamaha 673. Now, with the same exact cables and hardware, the Yamaha refuses to play well with the splitter. I can only send a direct line from the HDMI out to either the TV or the projector.

Is there anything I can try on the Yamaha end to remedy this? Firmware updates or other settings tricks I may not be aware of? I'd be willing to try a newer switch like the Monoprice 8204 I see being talked about here, but how will I know if even that switch will work? Maybe the 673 just doesn't play well with splitters in general?

Any thoughts or insight would be most appreciated!

I wanted to be clear, too, since my AVR is handling all the audio processing, this split out only needs to carry video. I don't care about the audio passing through.

Brad
BradP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-29-2012, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I own this Monoprice powered splitter and it works flawlessly but I haven't changed my AVR since installing.

Try the troubleshooting tips at the Sewelldirect.com website.

http://sewelldirect.com/articles/HDMI_Splitter_Audio-Video_Troubleshooting.aspx

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-30-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the link, it was worth a try but still no love. The 607 wasn't an HDMI 1.4 and this Yamaha 673 is, so maybe I just needed to upgrade my switch.

The 8204 is on order, and we'll see if that gets the job done.

Thanks for the post.
BradP is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off