panasonic gt30 hdmi ports 1 & 2 stopped working. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-19-2012, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
leedsad8t6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I hope I am in the correct place, wondering if anyone has had a similar issue with their plasmas...

I barely use my plasma which is hardly ever moved or have several inputs a day plugged in and out, so i am rather worried that 2 of my 4 hdmi ports just stopped working.

When i plug a device into either then turn the device on the tv recognises a signal but instead of going to port 1 or 2 it goes to ec/hdmi 3 or 4 (even though no device is plugged in them ports)

Manually changing to port one or two just displays a black screen. I have tried unplugging everything, and a factory reset with no joy.

I am just outside of my warranty by about a month :-(, any ideas?

Many thanks

Daniel
leedsad8t6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-20-2012, 01:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Hello Daniel

Are you ‘Hot Plugging’ the devices (plugging HDMI cables In/Out with devices powered On at the wall) – with HDMI it is always best (though can be a slow process) to power everything Off at the wall before you start to plug/unplug HDMI cables.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-20-2012, 02:07 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Other thing you can try is to do a factory reset (the option is usually in the menu system) and see if that restores the HDMI ports to working. Unfortunately, after that it's likely the ports are damaged and you'll need someone to diagnose whether that is true or not.

Of course, try those ports with two different sources and cables in case it really is a source problem and not a TV problem.
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off