Looking for an HDMi A/B switch - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 39 Old 01-02-2013, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Unfortunately you are out of my experience base. I don't know if anyone else here has tried this.

Ok. Let me think about trying it on an old 480P projector and may be a LCD monitor, just to be sure...
aaranddeeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 39 Old 01-03-2013, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
get a meter and check out each pin (ie. pin to pin). IF the "thing" is a simple wire coupler which is likely then you will get the "passive" option that Andy has been discussing. However, in this domain, that sort of setup is unlikely to work except maybe in very short cases.

It is funny that you worry about damage to your equipment yet are willing to try devices (cheap "couplers") that may lead you there... ???? your test using old equipment will likely prove little other than perhaps it works for that configuration... that is NOT a proof that it will work (including ruining) your other equipment when used in that configuration. You will likely be more success with a "proper" splitter that can be readily found at monoprice and other places.
budwich is offline  
post #33 of 39 Old 01-03-2013, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post

get a meter and check out each pin (ie. pin to pin). IF the "thing" is a simple wire coupler which is likely then you will get the "passive" option that Andy has been discussing. However, in this domain, that sort of setup is unlikely to work except maybe in very short cases.
It is funny that you worry about damage to your equipment yet are willing to try devices (cheap "couplers") that may lead you there... ???? your test using old equipment will likely prove little other than perhaps it works for that configuration... that is NOT a proof that it will work (including ruining) your other equipment when used in that configuration. You will likely be more success with a "proper" splitter that can be readily found at monoprice and other places.


I was trying to avoid fishing another huge clumsy 22/24 AWG cable. May be that is the option I should re-visit.
I know redmere is thin (but it is directional and you can not use the keystones as I heard).
Any other thinner High speed cable that can run 25 feet. I will have 2x 90 degree turns and the monoprice cables are "rods"
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #34 of 39 Old 01-03-2013, 10:42 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Never heard that keystones won't work with Redmere. I don't see any reason those would be a problem.
alk3997 is offline  
post #35 of 39 Old 01-04-2013, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Never heard that keystones won't work with Redmere. I don't see any reason those would be a problem.

See here, it's kind of CYA answer from monoprice.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #36 of 39 Old 01-04-2013, 06:58 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I wouldn't go too much by that. It was one Monoprice customer service person who may not have even tried it. They also have a great return policy if you want to try it (prior to in wall). The keystone is essentially a coupler for HDMI. Yes, there will be some signal loss but the amount should be small (maybe even very small).
alk3997 is offline  
post #37 of 39 Old 01-04-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

I wouldn't go too much by that. It was one Monoprice customer service person who may not have even tried it. They also have a great return policy if you want to try it (prior to in wall). The keystone is essentially a coupler for HDMI. Yes, there will be some signal loss but the amount should be small (maybe even very small).

I had opened a question with monoprice and they say that it is okay to use 2 redmere cables (with correct direction) coupled using HDMI coupler. They also seem to okay with keystone jack in the end. I am yet to get the confirmation on the end cable after keystone (redmere or not).
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #38 of 39 Old 01-04-2013, 04:43 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Redmere restores (not amplifies) a signal at the receiving end. It uses the power in the line to power the restore system.

So, is it better to have a non-redmere cable feeding a redmere-cable? I suspect if the signal is good it doesn't matter. So small High Speed passive into a long-length Redmere makes sense to me.

However, this is a case where you want to try this since environment can have an influence.
alk3997 is offline  
post #39 of 39 Old 01-04-2013, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Redmere restores (not amplifies) a signal at the receiving end. It uses the power in the line to power the restore system.
So, is it better to have a non-redmere cable feeding a redmere-cable? I suspect if the signal is good it doesn't matter. So small High Speed passive into a long-length Redmere makes sense to me.
However, this is a case where you want to try this since environment can have an influence.

Monoprice just confirmed that the cable at display end (from keystone jack to display) can be redmere or regular high speed and mention "it is more successful" with regular high speed...
aaranddeeman is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off