Existing hdmi in roof for projector?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bobo1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi we recently moved to a new home with an existing media room the house was built in 2007 and there is an existing hdmi cable for the projector in roof that can not be changed out due to finished drywall basement there are the markings on cable: LWC Digital media Interconnect E190607-E We were wondering if a cable this age would support a new panasonic 3D projector?? Thank for any help
bobo1979 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 09:15 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
What do you mean "in the roof"? Do you mean in the attic?

Age shouldn't matter unless it is outside. Length, gauge and whether it is High Speed or Standard Speed matters.

I suspect in this case, the answer is going to be to try it. If it doesn't work it will be obvious. If it doesn't work, then you can worry about how you are going to replace it. 3D is less bandwidth than 1080p/60, so if you can do 1080p/60 right now, you should be OK for 3D.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bobo1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No the media room is in the basement and the roof of basement is finished in drywall with no access to change out hdmi cable
bobo1979 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 09:54 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I got it. The HDMI cable is in the ceiling.

OK, the best thing to do is to try it. If you get a solid picture for five minutes and there are no lines or sparkles or large blocks of a single color then your cable is working. Try it at 1080p/60 until you get your 3D projector.

If it doesn't work, your only option is to run another HDMI cable (unless you have a Cat 6 connection as well). Drywall can be opened and repaired. An experienced drywaller can clean it up so you can't tell. But, hopefully it won't come to that.
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 61
If your test shows sparkles or drop out all may not be lost – you may find adding a powered extender to the Sink (Display) end of the cable run will resolve any problems the cable may be introducing!

Be careful with the Connector/cable Interface – that is where many ‘older’ cable designs physically ‘fail’ if they have been bent too tightly (over stressed), tugged when moving kit around or used as a ‘pull’ point when the cables are being installed!

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20extender.htm

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-08-2013, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
techno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same cable, except it is E109607-N. i had questions about its capabilities and contacted the manf., liberty wire and cable, and was told the folowing:

"The specification of that cable is Standard HDMI. It is tested and certified to 5 Gbps. It does not support Ethernet or ARC. It will support resolutions up to 1080p60 with 8 bit color."

I suspect your revision probably has the same specs.
techno1 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-09-2013, 09:05 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Do you know what cable length the manufacturer was referring to? Does the E109607-N number indicate the cables length?

I say that because usually manufacturers certify to a cable length and then anything less than that length is usually included. Any greater than that length can be a problem since the greater the length the more errors will creep in.

You have nothing to lose by trying the cable and you might find with your length and for that particular cable that you can do a bit more (or less) than 1080p/60 with deep color off.
alk3997 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-10-2013, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
techno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not measured it but my run is likely 25 feet given the distance between the t.v. and the location of the components. I just wanted to let Bobo generally know what the likely specs are for his cable. I am looking at upgrading some of my components and will do the old try it first before replacing, but if that does not work, do you have any opinions on Monoprice's redmere HDMI cables--30ft? I have seen mixed reviews from their customers.
techno1 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-10-2013, 12:11 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The 25 foot is a big consideration for whether an HDMI cable will be able to work with higher bandwidths. The bit rate is obviously derived on the allowable bandwidth of the cable. So, a shorter cable will allow a higher bitrate (all other variables being equal). That's why the length of the cable is so important. A 4 foot HDMI cable will likely allow a much higher bitrate without error than the exact same cable at 25 feet. So, it's actually a big consideration for someone in the 25 foot range.

I now recommend Redmere for anything over 25 feet to as far as Redmere will go. The first Redmere cables from Monoprice off the assembly line had problems but the general consensus on newer cable is that they perform well. For in-wall (in-ceiling) make sure you get the CL2-rated versions.
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off