HDMI -> Component Conversion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-06-2013, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
I know this has probably been covered ad naseum, and it's a bit out of my area of expertise, so I thought I'd ask the "big guys" wink.gif

My bro-in-law has an old Sony 53" RPT with component-only inputs. The Sony came out around 2000 (year, not cost) and supports 480, 720i/p, and 1080i. He'd like to run HDMI from either a Roku, AppleTV2, or Boxee but is concerned about HDCP when converting from HDMI to component. What he's looking at is this: http://goo.gl/rhQXT

Would that work for what he wants to do and what are the possible drawbacks?
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-06-2013, 02:08 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Otto, they claim they support HDCP. I have to admit being surprised that they haven't been "asked" to discontinue the unit since it is supposedly in violation of the HDMI adopters agreement. However, if the accuracy of the specification is correct, then it should work (and it is what these devices should be used for IMHO). Really the big issue with these cheaper boxes is picture quality including shifting of the picture.

There are other better known devices such as this that cost more and have a reputation of providing very good picture quality. Unfortunately most of those are no longer available as new devices except on their own overseas website. There is often a fury of activity (hint, hint).
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-06-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Understood. I'll pass along the info. Thanks!
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-07-2013, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Often where a ‘converter’says it ‘supports’ HDCP is an indication that it will only Output an Analogue signal when HDCP is not flagged by the Source device!

I’d 2nd that Fury of activity biggrin.gif

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off