I want o connect my Kindle HD Fire to my older TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right now I have my lap top with a VGA adapter to a little converter box in VGA then S cable out to my TV ,it works fine I can watch net flex or crackle movies . I just purchased from amazon a micro or sometimes called min HDMI to VGA out adapter to plug the VGA into MY small converter box the same way I hook up my lap top computer, will this give me a picture on my TV

what I have is a new Acer lap top that works now with my TV model Phillips 32 inch Fauxflate and has in puts both RCA plugs red white yellow and Red blue and green and a S Video input which I'm using from my converter box Blue small 3x4 inches VGA in put and out put and S video out put and 1 audio out put . what I have been using is the VGA out from my computer to the VGA in on the converter box and S cable out tio S cable in on my TV . here is the converter box

http://www.amazon.com/Lake-Converter-compatible-Windows-S-Video/dp/B00351VWKI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359474598&sr=8-1&keywords=converter+box+tv+vga
rhondas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhondas View Post

Right now I have my lap top with a VGA adaptor to a little converter box in VGA then S cable out to my TV ,it works fine I can watch net flex or crackle movies . I just purchased from amazon a micro or sometimes called min HDMI to VGA out adapter to plug the VGA into MY small converter box the same way I hook up my lap top computer, will this give me a picture on my TV

While we wait for people in the know to answer, I'll add in my 2 cents. I'm going to say no. I believe that it worked in the past because you were dealing with a strictly analog signal. Based on my limited experience, this wouldn't work because you would need to actually convert the digital signal to analog. There are digital-to-analog converters (not adapters) but they aren't super cheap.

You haven't mentioned what type of TV you have. If it's an HDTV, you can get 1 of these:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10242&cs_id=1024201&p_id=3645&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

I'm sure that I won't be alone in having a hard time visualizing your exact configuration. Do you currently have something like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=4724&seq=1&format=2#description

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 06:39 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
An HDMI to VGA adapter is not permitted by the HDMI adopter's agreement - in other words, the vendor was, by their agreements, not supposed to be able to sell you that.

So, you're on your own as to whether or not it will work. Try it and see what happens.

BTW, any conversion from HDMI to any type of high definition analog output is prohibitted. 480i/p is still permitted. If your VGA device only generates 480p, then it may have been OK but you won't like the picture.
alk3997 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctego View Post

While we wait for people in the know to answer, I'll add in my 2 cents. I'm going to say no. I believe that it worked in the past because you were dealing with a strictly analog signal. Based on my limited experience, this wouldn't work because you would need to actually convert the digital signal to analog. There are digital-to-analog converters (not adapters) but they aren't super cheap.

You haven't mentioned what type of TV you have. If it's an HDTV, you can get 1 of these:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10242&cs_id=1024201&p_id=3645&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

I'm sure that I won't be alone in having a hard time visualizing your exact configuration. Do you currently have something like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=4724&seq=1&format=2#description


here is what I now have hooked up to my TV thanks for your help

what I have is a new Acer lap top that works now with my TV model Phillips 32 inch Fauxflate and has in puts both RCA plugs red white yellow and Red blue and green and a S Video input which I'm using from my converter box Blue small 3x4 inches VGA in put and out put and S video out put and 1 audio out put . what I have been using is the VGA out from my computer to the VGA in on the converter box and S cable out tio S cable in on my TV . here is the converter box

http://www.amazon.com/Lake-Converter-compatible-Windows-S-Video/dp/B00351VWKI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359474598&sr=8-1&keywords=converter+box+tv+vga
Edited by rhondas - Today at 7:51 am
rhondas is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

An HDMI to VGA adapter is not permitted by the HDMI adopter's agreement - in other words, the vendor was, by their agreements, not supposed to be able to sell you that.

So, you're on your own as to whether or not it will work. Try it and see what happens.

BTW, any conversion from HDMI to any type of high definition analog output is prohibitted. 480i/p is still permitted. If your VGA device only generates 480p, then it may have been OK but you won't like the picture.


here s what I have now thank you for your input

what I have is a new Acer lap top that works now with my TV model Phillips 32 inch Fauxflate and has in puts both RCA plugs red white yellow and Red blue and green and a S Video input which I'm using from my converter box Blue small 3x4 inches VGA in put and out put and S video out put and 1 audio out put . what I have been using is the VGA out from my computer to the VGA in on the converter box and S cable out tio S cable in on my TV . here is the converter box

http://www.amazon.com/Lake-Converter-compatible-Windows-S-Video/dp/B00351VWKI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359474598&sr=8-1&keywords=converter+box+tv+vga
Edited by rhondas - Today at 7:51 am
rhondas is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 09:01 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhondas View Post

here s what I have now thank you for your input

what I have is a new Acer lap top that works now with my TV model Phillips 32 inch Fauxflate and has in puts both RCA plugs red white yellow and Red blue and green and a S Video input which I'm using from my converter box Blue small 3x4 inches VGA in put and out put and S video out put and 1 audio out put . what I have been using is the VGA out from my computer to the VGA in on the converter box and S cable out tio S cable in on my TV . here is the converter box

http://www.amazon.com/Lake-Converter-compatible-Windows-S-Video/dp/B00351VWKI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359474598&sr=8-1&keywords=converter+box+tv+vga
Edited by rhondas - Today at 7:51 am

I had a few seconds to look at your converter box in the link you provided. The link doesn't appear to show any HDMI inputs and yet you said you had a mini-HDMI input. So, I'm a bit confused.

Are you planning to use a second converter box to go from mini-HDMI to VGA? If so, that will be a problem.
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

I had a few seconds to look at your converter box in the link you provided. The link doesn't appear to show any HDMI inputs and yet you said you had a mini-HDMI input. So, I'm a bit confused.

Are you planning to use a second converter box to go from mini-HDMI to VGA? If so, that will be a problem.

here is the micro HDMI to VGA I ordered>>>>>>>>>>>http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00879ELGA/ref=pe_175190_21431760_3p_M3T1_ST1_dp_1
rhondas is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 12:27 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Reviews say it works and specs would support that. However, I'd suspect the manufacturer might be getting a nasty call from the HDMI "enforcers" once they find out about this device.

Good luck.
alk3997 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its like a mattress do not remove this tag, thanks any way for your input
rhondas is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 03:57 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
No, actually it isn't. It's kind of like the manufacturer removed the matress tag and was then had to defend a lawsuit and was never given a license to produce a matress again (regardless of the outcome of the lawsuit). That's more accurate.

Of course, that's only if they catch the manufacturer.
alk3997 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-29-2013, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rhondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

No, actually it isn't. It's kind of like the manufacturer removed the matress tag and was then had to defend a lawsuit and was never given a license to produce a matress again (regardless of the outcome of the lawsuit). That's more accurate.

Of course, that's only if they catch the manufacturer.

yes your right , and thanks so much for you help,
rhondas is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off