video twitching - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-21-2013, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
petronsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have trouble running my Monster HDMI cables through my Integra DHC 80.1 preamp. Audio is fine, but video appears to get stuck frequently. It only happens when I run the signal through the Sony BDP or through the Direct TV box. I believe that it's the preamp, but I am not sure what feature to change to fix it. When I run the signal from Direct TV box directly to the TV using the same HMDI there is not a problem. Thanks for any suggestions.
petronsky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-22-2013, 09:34 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Well obviously the bits are getting stuck inside the Integra preamp. Just give it a small tap on the side and that should free up the bits. Just kidding...

Serious answer - I've heard about this before with Integra (which is a brand under Onkyo). It has usually been solved by a firmware update for the pre-amp. All AVR/pre-amp manufacturers hit these occasionally and it seems to usually involve improperly programmed firmware that doesn't handle the EDID properly.

BTW, just because you are using a Monster cable doesn't mean we know what type of HDMI cable that is. It is more important whether the cable was High Speed or Standard Speed than whether it was sold by a particular company. All Monster usually means to all of us is that you probably paid too much.

Anyway, check with Onkyo and see if that have a firmware update for the 80.1. If they don't, please let me know what you mean by "stuck". If you mean the picture is frozen that could be an internal processing issue or a TV issue. If you mean you get a blank picture, then that could be a cable problem or a firmware problem. That everything works normally on a direct connection again points back to the Integra.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-22-2013, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
petronsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Andy, I will check with Integra to see what they can tell me. I "inherited" the cables so didn't have much say in the choice, but for what it's worth they are Monster's M-series and are only about two years old. In your opinion is it worth updating the cables first or contacting Integra? To my knowledge the Integra has never been updated.
petronsky is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-23-2013, 07:28 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by petronsky View Post

Thanks Andy, I will check with Integra to see what they can tell me. I "inherited" the cables so didn't have much say in the choice, but for what it's worth they are Monster's M-series and are only about two years old. In your opinion is it worth updating the cables first or contacting Integra? To my knowledge the Integra has never been updated.

Definitely check with Onkyo first. That should be free and has the most chance of fixing the problem. If that doesn't work let me know what you meant by freezing and we can take it from there. Freezing has different meaning for different people.
alk3997 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off