HDMI 4x4 Matrix Switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-11-2013, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HWF-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a Monoprice HDMI 4x4 Matrix switch that worked perfectly for about 3 years, then about 3 months ago it failed. I immediately ordered another which had problems. I'm on about my fourth Monoprice 4x4 switch now and have had problems with all of them. Nothing else has changed, just the switch. I'm at the end of my rope and looking for another 4x4 switch. Any suggestions?
HWF-1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-11-2013, 04:07 PM
Member
 
tomandjudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hear ya.

After experiencing different issues with other brand/model switches, I settled on an Atlona AT-PRO3HD44M 4x4 HDMI/HDBaseT matrix (and extenders). I am very pleased with the performance of this switch. It has a 3 year warranty.

You might consider their AT-H2H-44M 4x4 HDMI matrix.

Good luck.
tomandjudy is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-11-2013, 04:13 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I'm sure Joe can show you some Octava matrix switches that will also work well.

(Cue Joe...)
alk3997 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 10:19 AM
Member
 
tomandjudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hmmmmmm...

When Andy posts, Google listens.

But, apparently Joe does not.

Blasphemy. Joe must be too busy processing RMA's.




j/k.
tomandjudy is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
What are the problems you are encountering?

Joe

PS School holidays here in the Scottish Borders this last two weeks so a bit of a juggle between work and family!

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-14-2013, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HWF-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe, I have 2 inputs and 3 outputs.The first switch worked well for about three yrs. When it failed I bought another, nothing else changed. I could not get the switch to output to one of my TV's. I tried switching cables inthe back of the unit. Monoprice tech support had me try 6' instead of 4' cables. Didn't see the logic there. I eventually changed to one of the unused inputs and it worked (for a few days). Then it failed and I couldn't get it to work again. Monoprice sent a replacement, again worked for a short time then the power switch had no effect. Stayed on could not turn off but the switch did not work. When you unplugged it and replugged it stayed on. Next replacement you could not switch the outputs either manually or with the remote. so, I'm looking for an alternative.
HWF-1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-15-2013, 02:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
HDMI can be a nightmare when you hit this sort of seemingly inexplicable problem.

If you have the option to update/reload firmware on any of the connected devices it is always a good idea to give that a go and then ensure you power cycle the whole HDMI signal chain.

As Andy says our Octava HDMX44 is one option you could consider – our units include a USB port to facilitate EDID and Firmware updates so we can often resolve issues thrown up by certain kit combinations
http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20matrix%20switch%204x4.html

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off