Ethernet over HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
arie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I have a question regarding Ethernet over HDMI.

Well, currently I’m not using any AV receiver because I’m in the middle of renovations. When all is done, I will finally connect all my equipment together.

My TV has an RJ45 jack and an optional WiFi (that I’m using for the past two years) and HDMI 1.4
My new receiver has an RJ45 jack and HDMI 1.4
My current cable box has HDMI1.0 (not used) but I’m going to replace it with a newer model that has an RJ45 jack and HDMI 1.3, I believe.

The newer cable box will be connected to the receiver with HDMI and from the HDMI OUT on the receiver, to HDMI1 on the TV.

Now, I planned on dedicating a switch port for every one of these devices. Then I saw that if the TV is connected to the Internet, all other supported devices can also be hooked up automatically through HDMI.

Is that true? Will all my supported devices be connected with a fully functional Ethernet connection that is 100Mbps fast?

Thank you,
arie01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,545
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Not quite sure if this is the same thing but I'm planning on connecting a gigabit switch via Cat-6 cabling (solid core) to my router which is in another room. From the gigabit switch I'll connect the internet-capable devices using Cat-6 ethernet patch cable. HDMI from those devices to the receiver and then HDMI out from the receiver to the tv. High Speed HDMI is ethernet capable but I don't think there are any devices that take advantage of that protocol yet.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
arie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So you are suggesting to stick with the original plan of using a Gigabit switch?
arie01 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 64
‘Ethernet over HDMI.’ – is a dead duck so forget about any ideas of using it.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
arie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Joe, I just did. We'll go back to good old switches and cables...
Joe Fernand likes this.
arie01 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off