Would HDM handshake issues cause a blue screen of death? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ok, I've not seen this issue specifically so am asking....

I have a (temporary) Insignia receiver with a 50ft heavy guage monoprice HDMI cable connected to a Panny 4K. BD player is a panasonic dbp-330 (I think that's the designation). Anyway...

I had been using an older BD player and after about 30-60 minutes, would get a blue screen of death in the middle of a movie. Now, I've been watching a lot of Netflix rentals and chalked it up to a bad disk. So I go and buy this new player (which loads about 10 times fster, BTW), and had the same issue with a purchased disk. Some times, I can hit rewind and then play and everything is fine. THIS weekend, I got the BSOD on a rental and the player refused to respond to ANY commands from my URC OR the OEM remote OR the hard buttons on the player. I had to unplug the player to get it to come back. And then it was fine for the rest of the movie. If it means anything, the picture is fine otherwise (no sparklies or dropouts or anything).

So, the new player has dual HDMI out, so I ran the projector directly from the player (leaving on HDMI into the receiver fro audio) and had the same issue. Double-checked al lthe connetions, too, just in case something wiggled loose.

Should I try an HDMI signal booster? Would replacing the reciever with my Dennon 3806 likely solve it? I'm at a loss here. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 377
The new '30' series from Panasonic seems to be plagued with some very significant issues which have been unlike any other players they have released before. The 330 doesn't seem to be as ill fated as the 230 is, but the reviews seem similar. Some people having good results, many having lockups that require hard powering the player to get it to work.

At this point, unless you need the dual HDMI output, I would opt for a Sony player or a 220 player if you can find it.

This problem exists entirely in the mind of your BD player and should not be an issue related to HDMI in any way.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks for the reply.

That may be the cause of the current player's complete shutdown, but I had the same BSOD with the older player. Does that change anything in your answer?

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 377
If a player locks up and is non-responsive, then that player has an issue. No HDMI device has the requisite capabilities to 'shut down' the playback device. It only operates on the signal itself and will shut down the signal. Sometimes this ends up displaying a HDCP error message, sometimes a blue screen, sometimes something else. I have heard of a number of issues over the years with HDMI and HDCP, but this type of issue is almost always in the source device.

Unfortunately, I have not experienced such a problem myself and there are various answers which are out there, so I can't say with 100% certainty that this is the issue, it is just most likely the issue.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ok, thanks again!

So it appears that there are two issues, one with the player shutting down/no response (which I'll try to update the firmware tonight) and second the blue screen that could be signal loss. I think I'll try an HDMI booster/repeater to try to fix that.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 377
If you can, try a short HDMI cable and locally position the BD player for a couple of movies to see if the issue persists before spending a penny.

A 6'-10" HDMI cable is a good way to test things out.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 07-15-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Yes, the 50' HDMI cable could be your blue screen issue. Passive High Speed HDMI is certified up to about 25'. As suggested, try a 10' High Speed Cable and see if that works. If it does, you might want to consider a Redmere cable if you really need to go 50' and don't want to introduce a mechanical device (I like my cables with no interruptions) between your blu-ray player and tv. BTW, I have a 2 year old Panasonic BDT-210 BD player that has been a rock solid performer. I think you can still find them or even the 220.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 07-16-2013, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks...I'll try a shorter cable, too.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 07-22-2013, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Just an update....

I bought one of the Monoprice HDMI booster/repeaters and installed it this weekend,. Watched one BR rental from Netflix and did not have any issues. Not yet sure if that solves the issue or not. I'l lhave to watch a few more to see if that does it.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 07-30-2013, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
So, one more update.

The booster seems to work fine when the projector is run directly from the BR Player. Last weekend we watched Cloud Atlas (it is long at 2:50) and didn't have an issue. So I try to run the BR Player through the receiver and then the projector from the reciever and the reciever reports no signal and the projector (Panny 4K) constantly searches for an input signal.

I'd like to be able to switch sources through the player (or at least see the receiver menu through the projector). Maybe I need another switch. It seems like the booster does not report the EDID or something. It's just really weird.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 07-30-2013, 01:11 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
You're getting bit errors. You probably don't need another switch - you need to clean up where the bit errors are being generated.

Does the same thing happen with the shorter cable?
alk3997 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 07-31-2013, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Haven't tried a shorter cable yet. I don't have one that can reach from the projector back to the equipment without taking down the projector or pulling out the equipment. SO, just to be clear, here's the set up and what happens. Keep in mind that the BSOD occurs at some point into the movie, usually about 30 minutes or so in.

BR - Long HDMI - Projector = BSOD
BR - Long HDMI - Booster - short HDMI - Projector = No BSOD (At least up to the 2:50 that Cloud Atlas runs)

BR - Short cable - Receiver - Long HDMI - Projector = BSOD
BR - Short cable - Receiver - Long HDMI - Booster - short HDMI - Projector = No SIGNAL

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 07-31-2013, 10:22 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Looks like the booster is providing some cable equalization which is making up for some of the cable's deficiencies, but not enough with the receiver. Basically if this was a pipe, you are sending too much water through the pipe at one time and the pipe is leaking (best analogy I've got right now).

So, what you want to do is to cut down on the amount of data you are sending or fix the pipe. Every place you can find, disable "Deep Color". Make sure it is Off not Auto or On. That will reduce the amount of data and you won't notice any picture difference (actually it could improve the picture quality in some cases).

If that doesn't work try, temporarily, 1080i. If that doesn't work, I'd be surprised.

Once you get to that step, then we can discuss options.
alk3997 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 07-31-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
OK, Thanks! I'll try that. I may have deep color on auto on both the player and projector.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 08-01-2013, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
So, what you want to do is to cut down on the amount of data you are sending or fix the pipe. Every place you can find, disable "Deep Color". Make sure it is Off not Auto or On. That will reduce the amount of data and you won't notice any picture difference (actually it could improve the picture quality in some cases).

Tried that last night. No difference...still no signal to projector. Tonight on way home Ill pick up an external power supply for the booster and try the 1080i suggestion.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 08-02-2013, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
External power supply for the booster seems to have done the trick!

At least as far as getting the signal from the player thru the reciever and then to the projector. I'll know tonight if I get any BSODs while actually watching a movie.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 08-11-2013, 08:07 AM
Member
 
mhaneef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South of Boston,MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Tom,
Which booster did you get? I'm having a similar issue with a Denon 4520 and Epson 6020 (with Dish Hopper/Oppo/Xbox) where my Redmere cables work fine directly from source to pj but not through avr.
mhaneef is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 08-13-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Sorry for the late reply.....

I got this one at monoprice....

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10105&cs_id=1011012&p_id=8120&seq=1&format=2

I needed the external power supply. Monoprice does not sell one but they give you the exact specs. I got mine at Ratshack, it was really expensive, but it worked.

I have not had a BSOD or dropout since and I've watched 5 full movies (BluRays) and streamed 2 (Roku) since installing it.
mhaneef likes this.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 08-13-2013, 03:32 PM
Member
 
mhaneef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South of Boston,MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Tom, does it pass 3D as well? If so,it looks like a winner for me!
mhaneef is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 08-14-2013, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Don't know...I don't have a 3D setup to the projector (only my 65" Mits in another room).

BUT, monoprice is great on returns, so I'd give it a shot.
mhaneef likes this.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 08-28-2013, 03:18 PM
Member
 
mhaneef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South of Boston,MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Tom, just wanted to let you know that the Monoprice 8120- with a ac adapter attached- worked just fine for me and yes it does pass 3D for any who may be wondering. Thanks for the tip!
tlogan6797 likes this.
mhaneef is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 08-29-2013, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Great to know. Thanks for posting!

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off