Long HDMI cable or HDMI to Cat5e/6 ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
donbrazzini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DISHTV receiver connected to my plasma TV sitting in the living room on the first floor.

In my second floor, I have a bonus room in which, I have a EPSON projector with HDMI (1080p) that is connected to a Yamaha receiver. I have a DVD and HTPC also connected to the receiver.

To my DISHTV receiver, I have a sling adapter connected to it and when I have to watch DISHTV on my projecter, I use my HTPC and watch TV on my projector through dishanywhere.com

Although I get 8mbps streaming on dishanywhere.com because it is within my internal network, the quality is not nearly as good as connecting the DISH receiver directly .

I wish to use a HDMI switch like http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-HDMI-Bi-Directional-Switch-Passthrough/dp/B00629NHW6
to route the DVR HDMI signal to either the Plasma TV in my living room or to my YAMAHA receiver in my bonus room upstairs.

Question is

- Should I buy a long HDMI cable (> 75 feet , I am guessing)
OR
- Should I buy a HDMI to CAT5e/6 http://www.amazon.com/Generic-HDMI-Extender-Cat5e-Cables/dp/B003LZA95W/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1377018578&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+to+cat5 and a long CAT5e or Cat6 cable ?

I have read user reviews on amazon on the HDMI to Cat5e converter and they seem to be mixed. Some users rating it a 5star and some at 1star. So, it is kind of hard to tell if it really works.?

I have also read that some people have trouble getting video on audio over HDMI on long distances.

Could the experts here on the forum recommend an approach.? any help is appreciated
donbrazzini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 11:49 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Since Redmere cables seem to max out at around 60' and assuming you want a certified 1080p signal, then cat 5e/6 would be the way to go (unless you want to try fibre).

However, before you go there you probably should read up on "lowest common denominator" principle and how it applied to HDMI. If you setup the way you are saying you'll likely only get stereo output on the Yamaha, assuming that the 1st floor plasma is a stereo TV.

You could also try to get a very thick 75' passive standard speed HDMI cable and it would probably work for 1080p. Not guaranteeed but probably.

In terms of quality of the cat 5e/6, that will depend upon the manufacturer of the chipsets used and the implementation of the converted. Most people do not recommend any converter or switch that uses power from the HDMI cable. In other words, if the converter or switch doesn't have an external adapter (a wall wart), then it's probably not going to be reliable.

Another option is to lower your output to 1080i/720p, since that's all Dish receivers and DirecTV receivers and cable STBs get as input anyway. The receiver then upscales to 1080p which your TV/projector probably does a better job of anyway. If you lower to 1080i/720p that would lower the required bandwidth enough that a passive standard speed HDMI will work at 75'. That may be a bit strong - ...a standard speed HDMI almost entirely likely will work at 75' - is more accurate.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Assuming the DISHTV Receiver offers HD Video + 2.0 Audio via HDMI (direct to your TV) + an Optical Out for DD/DTS 5.1 we would normally recommend you add in a suitable powered 1x2 Distribution Amp (Splitter) plus an HDMI + Optical over Dual CAT Extender (to get Video + 5.1 to your remote AVR) – though our pricing/design is very different to the products you link to!

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20distribution%20amp_splitter%202%20port.html

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20ethernet%20extender%20IR_Digital%20Audio_BD.html

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
donbrazzini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the inputs, alk3997 and Joe.

I probably will not have both my TV and Projector at same time and I believe 720p is the default output from DVR currently.

so, it seems 75' HDMI would work, I guess. just another question.. what is the difference between passive and active HDMI.?
donbrazzini is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 01:52 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by donbrazzini View Post

thanks for the inputs, alk3997 and Joe.

I probably will not have both my TV and Projector at same time and I believe 720p is the default output from DVR currently.

so, it seems 75' HDMI would work, I guess. just another question.. what is the difference between passive and active HDMI.?

None for the STB or TV. Active just means there is a chip in the cable that helps boost the distance it can go (or shrink the diameter of the cable). Passive just means there isn't any electronics inside the cable.
alk3997 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 01:54 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

Assuming the DISHTV Receiver offers HD Video + 2.0 Audio via HDMI (direct to your TV) + an Optical Out for DD/DTS 5.1 we would normally recommend you add in a suitable powered 1x2 Distribution Amp (Splitter) plus an HDMI + Optical over Dual CAT Extender (to get Video + 5.1 to your remote AVR) – though our pricing/design is very different to the products you link to!

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20distribution%20amp_splitter%202%20port.html

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20ethernet%20extender%20IR_Digital%20Audio_BD.html

Joe

Joe, Dish and DirecTV both offer only stereo 2.0 (48/16) and Dolby Digital 5.1. I'm pretty sure they both stay within ATSC specs for all audio. So, no DTS.
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
donbrazzini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks!
donbrazzini is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-20-2013, 04:17 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by donbrazzini View Post

thanks!

I just caught something you wrote. Just because you won't have both "on" at the same time doesn't mean they are not "on". They are likely in standby. If you have a red LED illuminated or can use a remote control with them when "off" then they are in standby. In standby mode most HDMI chipsets continue to send their EDID. Most switches process all EDIDs at all times. So, you could still have a lowest common denominator issue even if you think the TV/projector is off.
alk3997 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Cheers Andy - I wrote DTS out of habit and being 'this side of the pond' wasn’t 100% on what US broadcasters do/don’t offer.

As you say being in Standby is very different from being powered Off when it comes to HDMI equipped devices – which tends to throw lots of folk when they are planning a ‘complex’ system!

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 03:22 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Agreed. Many people still think their sets are powered off and yet somehow still respond to the remote control.

Really appreciate all your insight into HDMI that you take the time to do in this forum!
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Tags
Siig Inc Hdmi Over Cat5e Transceiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off