Sony Grand Wega KDF-55WF655 - HMDI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jain25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony Grand Wega KDF-55WF655 and the HDI does not seem to be working. Never tried it before so it prob was never working.

Tried cable box, laptop, etc.nothing works. The screen blinks so it does recognize it, but not picture. Thanks.
jain25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 05:17 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by jain25 View Post

I have a Sony Grand Wega KDF-55WF655 and the HDI does not seem to be working. Never tried it before so it prob was never working.

Tried cable box, laptop, etc.nothing works. The screen blinks so it does recognize it, but not picture. Thanks.

(rant redacted by author)

In general, check that you have a good HDMI cable by trying a different one. Check that your sources are set to send something out by HDMI. Many devices require a menu selection for HDMI. Also some devices won't work if anything is hooked up to the component video output.

Make sure you have plugged the cable in correctly.

If you need more help, be specific about what you have tried and what your setup is (component makes / model numbers, where you got the HDMI cable and what type of HDMI cable).

BTW, if your asking for free help at least take the time to spell HDMI correctly and not HDI or HMDI.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
How long is the cable? What gauge?

Maximum input resolution supported is 1080i. You could try forcing to that at the source.

FWIW early HDMI products had a lot of problems with interoperability between brands, particularly when it came to HDCP.
Colm is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-21-2013, 04:11 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Here's Sony's less than probably-helpful (LTPH) web page on "No Picture over HDMI on my Sony Wega"

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41851/c/65,66/p/61659,63345,63350/
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-23-2013, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 294
I recently dealt with a different Sony which was not working with an HD-Base-T extender... It had two HDMI inputs and I was first thinking it was the extender.

Nope, even using a short HDMI cable it was still an issue.

It was taken in for repair and did cost a few hundred bucks to get a new HDMI board put on the display, but it immediately resolved the issue.

Definitely try a short HDMI cable first and ensure you are sending an accepted resolution such as 1080i.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off