Looking for advice on HDMI cable and wall plate to use for 40ft run - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-02-2013, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am putting in a home theater in the basement. I want to run a 40 ft hdmi cable from my receiver to an HDMI wall plate. I plan to use this connection for my Xbox360 (and Xbox One later). I was going to use a Monoprice Redmere cable but when I tested it with a keystone HDMI port the it didn't work. When the cable was used directly, it worked fine.

Does anyone have a suggestion of which Monoprice cable I should use for my in-wall run for this appliaction?

Should I run the HDMI cable into a box or just run the cable to the spot and use a 1-Gang Low Voltage Mounting Bracket?

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks.
stahara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-04-2013, 08:35 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
DId a regular (non-Redmere) cable work with the keystone? I'm wondering if you have a damaged keystone connector.
alk3997 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-04-2013, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 260
I use this one regularly, and I have not had an issue with runs of about 50' in multiple installations:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024002&p_id=4034&seq=1&format=2

I would then take it to this wall plate:
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10425&cs_id=1042501&p_id=7330&seq=1&format=2

Yes, it's always better to go directly from source to destination without a wall plate, but that's just not always possible.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-04-2013, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 53
My rule of thumb is it can be seen connecter type wall plate if not use a low voltage mounting plate, running cables right to the input or output whatever the case my be. In this case I think it may be good to try a deferent keystone
and make sure that the Redmere is running the right way, they a directional.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-06-2013, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did test the keystone hdmi with passive cables and it worked fine.
stahara is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-07-2013, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I’d be ensuring you are running at least one spare CAT6 alongside any HDMI cable plus ensure the cables are easily replaced (big bore conduit is good) – HDMI cables can and do fail.

I don’t get the big rush to cables with inbuilt electronics – they are a potential pinch point when the electronics become obsolete!

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off