Handshake Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-28-2014, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deathmoo0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi everyone!

 

I recently purchased a Pioneer VSX-822-K and have all my devices hooked up to it via HDMI but sometimes I get a weird handshake problem, where all I see is a blinking "hdmi" on the front of the receivers display.

 

I have only a Comcast HD/DVR and playstation 4 hooked up to the receiver via HDMI and then one HMDI cable from the back of the receiver to the TV (Samsung HDTV).

 

I was reading that sometimes with the HD/DVR cable boxes you can get 'handshake problems' and the best way to ensure no problems is to connect a optical cable from the cable box to the receiver and then have a HDMI cable from the cable box to the HDTV. I'm not sure though...

 

I was wondering if you guys can assist me in this problem and help troubleshoot this issue?

 

Much appreciated and this forum is very informative!

 

Best wishes!

deathmoo0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-28-2014, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Your problem may be what comes on first. The optical cable only cares audio and no video, so thats a no go. Sometimes it takes a reading and a re-reading of the manuals one after the other to find the problem.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-28-2014, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deathmoo0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you for the reply. I figured if I just leave the receiver on then I don't have the 'handshake' problem. It usually occurs when I turn everything off, like the receiver, TV, and cable box. Has anyone else experienced a similar issue? Do you think the receiver is faulty? 

 

Many thanks :) 

deathmoo0 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-28-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Ensure all devices are running the latest firmware the manufacturer has available.

Are you powering devices Off (at the power socket) or In/Out of Standby.

The TV is the device which initiates the background -try cycling the TV Input if the AVR gets in a knot.

As Phil17018 says the order you take kit out of Standby can be important - try TV first then AVR and Source last of all.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-29-2014, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deathmoo0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you Joe for the reply.

 

I checked all my connections and the issue only occurs when powering off all devices. When this occurs I unplug everything from the power-socket and then plug everything back and when I turn on the TV, cable box and receiver it suddenly works. I connected the optical cable to the HD/DVR cable box and now have a HDMI directly connected to the TV. Today I had my PS4 turned on all day and when I switched inputs...it would respond again. So I unplugged everything and plugged it back again and then BOOM! It got a signal. This is super weird, I really don't want to buy another optical cable for the PS4 and have the HDMI directly connected to the TV again. I still have a 30 day return policy on my receiver and I am thinking about returning it? Any ideas.

 

Thanks again for your help!

Sean

deathmoo0 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-30-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
PS4 - ideally you want to stick with HDMI for Video and Audio, using Optical for Audio limits you to the lossy DD/DTS when your content has lossless HD Audio.

AVR - difficult to point you towards a fix if there is a basic incompatibility with your Source or Display kit, a quick Google shows you are not alone with this AVR.

Something to try is disable HDMI Control on all devices then power cycle the system.

Switching to a different brand AVR may be your best solution.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off