Best way to run an HDMI cable > 50 feet < 75 feet - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2014, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best way to run an HDMI cable > 50 feet < 75 feet

Is it to run one HDMI cable or use an extender or something else?

What are the best HDMI cables on the market for extended lengths?

I have read about Redmere from Monoprice, but I need this to have the highest probability of working. I am debugging a long term problem that I just need to work.

I recently upgraded from PS3 to PS4 and from XBox 360 to Xbox One and the problems got worse. I am now trying to solve this once and for all.

Last edited by Garet Jax; 06-13-2014 at 07:54 AM.
Garet Jax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2014, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 514
The BEST solution is HDBaseT.

Redmere will work, and is designed to work, but it could fail since it has active electronics. I don't recommend Redmere if you are putting it behind drywall for this reason, but using Redmere and running some cat-6 isn't a bad way to do things.

I actually most often use 22AWG HDMI cables from Monoprice and I have had great results.

Cable runs should all be point to point without wallplates between the connections.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
Old 06-13-2014, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post
The BEST solution is HDBaseT.
So if I was to use one of these:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

with a cat6 cable connecting them to each other and then a short HDMI cable on each end to connect the source and target, would that be how I use it?

If so, the two 100BaseT plugs are throwing me off. Are they there just to support Cat 5 cabling as well?

Last edited by Garet Jax; 06-13-2014 at 11:02 AM.
Garet Jax is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garet Jax View Post
So if I was to use one of these:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

with a cat6 cable connecting them to each other and then a short HDMI cable on each end to connect the source and target, would that be how I use it?

If so, the two 100BaseT plugs are throwing me off. Are they there just to support Cat 5 cabling as well?
HDBaseT supports 10/100 Ethernet over the same cat-6 cable that the HDMI runs down as well as RS-232 and/or Infrared.

So, if you plug your network into the transmitter it will give you 10/100 network connectivity at the other end.

You get HDMI AND network down the single cat-6 cable. Pretty cool huh?

The only wire you need between the source and the destination 75' away is one cat-6 wire. That cat-6 connects to the 'HDBaseT' connection on the boxes.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
Old 06-14-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 81
What is the long term problem you are debugging and what cables are you currently using?


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' us on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc
Joe Fernand is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
thecsigroup.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A cost effective solution for a high speed HDMI long run, may be the Monoprice RedMere.
http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_...&cs_id=1025506.
HDbaseT is great technology but if budget is a concern, RedMere may be a good solution.
Since the cable is active, which is somewhat disturbing, you could run a second cable as backup, and still pay less than you would for HDbaseT.
RedMere has all the bells and whistles that HDMI has to offer: Ethernet, audio return channel, CEC, etc...
RedMere is also 4K ready.

The reviews are good, and we recently ordered few cables to try.
Stay tuned...

Last edited by thecsigroup.com; 06-25-2014 at 07:12 AM.
thecsigroup.com is offline  
Old 06-26-2014, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecsigroup.com View Post
A cost effective solution for a high speed HDMI long run, may be the Monoprice RedMere.
http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_...&cs_id=1025506.
HDbaseT is great technology but if budget is a concern, RedMere may be a good solution.
Since the cable is active, which is somewhat disturbing, you could run a second cable as backup, and still pay less than you would for HDbaseT.
RedMere has all the bells and whistles that HDMI has to offer: Ethernet, audio return channel, CEC, etc...
RedMere is also 4K ready.

The reviews are good, and we recently ordered few cables to try.
Stay tuned...
Unless you're going to run the cables in-wall. Then you better use a 1" conduit for easy removal/replacement of the cable should it go bad or better yet, as suggested, run CAT-6. It's so much easier to pull a cable with no connectors on either end than it would be to pull a cable with both ends terminated with HDMI connectors.
Otto Pylot is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off