How do I connect my Home Theater ? (HDMI) - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2014, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
How do I connect my Home Theater ? (HDMI)

I have the following:

Receiver (Yamaha RX-V473) 1 Out, 4 In
TV (Samsung UE46D7005) 4 HDMI in (ARC included)
Digitalbox (1 HDMI)
Projector (Benq W1070) 2 HDMI's
iMac 27" (Thunderbolt>HDMI)

And
HDMI Switch (2 Out, 3 In)


How should i connect all these to receive Audio and Video on all devices?

I tried using TV & Projector -> HDMI Switch > Out 1 & Out 2
And iMac, Receiver & Digitalbox -> HDMI Switch -> In 1, In 2 & In 3

Didnt work duo

Last edited by skuum; 07-26-2014 at 12:14 PM.
skuum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2014, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
TV and Projector will be on the 2 outs and Receiver and Digital Box on 2 of the ins. Not sure how your audio will work out. I prefer using analog for sound.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post
TV and Projector will be on the 2 outs and Receiver and Digital Box on 2 of the ins. Not sure how your audio will work out. I prefer using analog for sound.
The problem with this, if I'm correct...

If i select on the Switch i.e Out 1 (TV), I then have to select i.e In 1 (Digitalbox) to receive TV Video, But must i not select In 2 (Receiver) for sound then?

I can only choose 1 Out-signal, and only 1 In-signal at the same time on the Switch, which is standard i think?
skuum is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 318
You could connect all of your devices via HDMI to the receiver (I'm not sure what you mean by digital box), with a single HDMI cable going out to the tv for video. Turn off the audio on the tv. Disable ARC on all of your ARC capable devices and then get a programmable remote like a Harmony. That way you can easily select your source with one or two pushes of a button.

All of your audio should be played thru the receiver with only the video portion going to the tv. Use certified high speed HDMI cables (Monoprice, MediaBridge, Blue Jeans, etc) and you're good to go. That's how I have mine setup, only my tv is OTA only, so I use an optical cable from the tv to the receiver so I can listen to discrete 5.1 when broadcast (using the internal ATSC tuner).
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
You could connect all of your devices via HDMI to the receiver (I'm not sure what you mean by digital box), with a single HDMI cable going out to the tv for video. Turn off the audio on the tv. Disable ARC on all of your ARC capable devices and then get a programmable remote like a Harmony. That way you can easily select your source with one or two pushes of a button.

All of your audio should be played thru the receiver with only the video portion going to the tv. Use certified high speed HDMI cables (Monoprice, MediaBridge, Blue Jeans, etc) and you're good to go. That's how I have mine setup, only my tv is OTA only, so I use an optical cable from the tv to the receiver so I can listen to discrete 5.1 when broadcast (using the internal ATSC tuner).
I've actually been looking on a Harmony...

Digitalbox is a Cable box


So, If I use my only Receiver-OUT to my TV (Not Arc?)

Then where should my Projector go to? Don't the projector need an HDMI-Out aswell?
skuum is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Possibly simpler to plan out your system if you start at the Sources and work towards the Display devices.

Connect the Sources to the AVR via HDMI then the HDMI Out of the AVR to an Input on the 3x2 Switch and connect the Output(s) of the Switch to the TV and Projector.

ARC only works when the TV and ARC are ARC enabled (and you have HDMI CEC control enabled).


If the 3x2 Switch can be locked to a mirrored Output mode that ought to make things slightly simpler.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc


Last edited by Joe Fernand; 07-26-2014 at 02:50 PM. Reason: Weird formatting!
Joe Fernand is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
Possibly simpler to plan out your system if you start at the Sources and work towards the Display devices.

Connect the Sources to the AVR via HDMI then the HDMI Out of the AVR to an Input on the 3x2 Switch and connect the Output(s) of the Switch to the TV and Projector.

ARC only works when the TV and ARC are ARC enabled (and you have HDMI CEC control enabled).


If the 3x2 Switch can be locked to a mirrored Output mode that ought to make things slightly simpler.

Joe
That actually worked very well... Thank you
Joe Fernand likes this.
skuum is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Joe is a wizard at simplyfing things.
Joe Fernand likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 01-05-2015, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
apple tv -- AVR -- Soundbar + BenQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by skuum View Post
That actually worked very well... Thank you
skuum,

Here's what I have :
(1) apple tv ( HDMI out, optical out )
(2) blu ray player ( HDMI out )
(3) cable tv set top box ( HDMI out )
(4) pioneer vsx-822 receiver - this is borrowed, I'm willing to buy another .
(5) VIZIO S4251w-B4 5.1 Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers ( optical in, RCA in, digital in , HDMI in)
(6) benq 1085st ( HDMI in , audio out via RCA )

What I'd like to do :
a) connect 1, 2,3 to 4 .
b) connect 4 to 6 ( HDMI )
b) connect 4 to 5 ( RCA connection red-white males to vizio - this did not work )

Since I mostly watch apple tv, I'd like to get that connected first. 2 and 3 in the future.

I do get picture but no audio. Tried several things including optical out apple tv. Didn't work. And I don't prefer that either.

Is there any receiver that will let me all the devices in HDMI in, and I split the HDMI out, one to the projector and the other to the soundbar with HDMI ? Everyone says this will work but it doesn't .

I'd like to avoid connecting sound from projector.
shanlz is offline  
Old 01-06-2015, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 78
‘Is there any receiver that will let me all the devicesin HDMI in, and I split the HDMI out, one to the projector and the other to thesoundbar with HDMI ? Everyone says this will work but it doesn't’ – can weassume you have a 5.1 Sat/Sub speaker array connected to the AVR for use whenyou are viewing via the Projector?


The Soundbar is effectively an AVR integrated into aloudspeaker chassis - you would not ‘cascade’ the AVR Output to the Soundbar Input.


How best to connect up your system will depend on your answer to the question above.


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off