HDMI for 50Ft !! Help !!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-23-2014, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDMI for 50Ft !! Help !!!!

Hello,

I want to connect my pc with an NVIDIA Geforce GTS 450 with my Toshiba 40inch LED. My Pc is away from TV , around 50ft or 15m away. Should i go for hdmi over cat 6 or HDMI cable 50ft itself ??Help. I will be using 1080p full hd and dont need 3d or arc or whatsoever.

The cable which i selected is : http://www.amazon.in/dp/B004GW25WY

HDMI over cat 6

Convertor selected Rated for 100ft : http://r.ebay.com/HnKdih

Cable selected , Dlink Cat6 type : http://r.ebay.com/9w4Ss1

please help !!!
Amal Syed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-23-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Will you be installing the cable in a wall or just along the floor? If installation is to be in-wall, I highly recommend using a 1" conduit for easy repair/replacing of cable(s).

You could use a Redmere cable for that length and still maintain the high speed HDMI specs.

CAT-6 with HDBT (HDBase-T) is another option but can be pricey.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-25-2014, 02:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 61
HDMI cable - no passive cable over 8m is rated as High Speed, its simply not possible to pass the required test.


Active HDMI - as Otto says that is one option, though they don't work in all systems so always have a Plan B.


HDMI over Dual CAT Extender - avoid anything which is not externally powered (esp. with a PC as the Source) as there is a high probability of the extender not working in your system. Always look for a powered solution - http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20ethe...onverters.html


HDMI over HDBT - utilises a single CAT6 and is very stable, http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI_extender_HD70STPEX.html


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is online now  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Tags
cat6 , hdmi , hdmi over ethernet

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off