WDTV live box - Only 1 hdmi output - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-04-2014, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
WDTV live box - Only 1 hdmi output

So I got a WDTV live box - unfortunately it only has one HDMI output. This means that I have to switch HDMI cable between my TV and projector depending on which screen I want to use.

I have read about HDMI splitters - would such a device allow me to have both my projector and TV screen connected at once to my WDTV live box?


I have attached a picture of a HDMI splitter. So the idea is that I connect the splitter to the WDTV live and the plug both my tv screen and projector into the splitter. Hope I have explained myself good enough
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	download.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	4.1 KB
ID:	246130  
thadudedk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-04-2014, 12:42 PM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That should work. I have a WDTV Live Plus with HDMI out to 1 input of a 4x2 matrix switch, 1 output of which feeds a 1x2 splitter (both Monoprice). No problems, at least none that aren't caused by !@#$%^ DRM requirements.
ebo is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-04-2014, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Good to hear! Just to be sure - is this the way you have done it too? Not sure I understood your setup 100% (See my drawing - lol)

Btw. For the seup on my drawing - do I need a HDMI switch or HDMI splitter?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WDTV split.png
Views:	7
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	246378  
thadudedk is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-04-2014, 10:43 PM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's not quite like my setup--I have a matrix switch between the WDTV and the splitter, with other inputs on the switch as well--but your drawing is correct for what you want to do. And you do want a splitter for that job, not a switch.

There's no guarantee that any given splitter will work with all your devices because of the aforementioned DRM stupidities but the only problem I've had with mine was when I was feeding one output to HDMI In on a projector and the other to DVI In (through an adapter) on a computer monitor. Sometimes it worked, sometimes I got a colorspace mismatch on one of the displays (shows as pink or green tint, like The Matrix only worse). My solution was to replace the monitor with one with HDMI In.
ebo is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-05-2014, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Ensure any Distribution Amp 'splitter' you install has an external PSU and is not trying to 'steal' power from the Source device HDMI socket.


http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20dist...02%20port.html


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is online now  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off