UHD Blu-ray and Long HDMI cables - what works ! - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 350Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
There will be a copper HDMI (non-optical) option coming in September/October that will pass 18 gbps in lengths over 20 meters. Not sure I have permission to disclose the details just yet, so I better not.

Of note, it is not a Monoprice/Redmere technology.
Can you at least disclose the price or thickness/flexibility of the cable?

Theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
Some may work for others, but it's the luck of the draw.
My point exactly. Cable build descriptions can sound really good but going by them alone, and to be honest that's really all one has to go on, can be deceptive and misleading. Consumers want guarantees and there just aren't any at the long distances. I wish we had never been stuck with HDMI but that's a whole 'nuther discussion.
Dave Vaughn likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #63 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
There will be a copper HDMI (non-optical) option coming in September/October that will pass 18 gbps in lengths over 20 meters. Not sure I have permission to disclose the details just yet, so I better not.

Of note, it is not a Monoprice/Redmere technology.
We're going to hold you to that!
SimpleTheater likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
 
post #64 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post
Can the Amazon Fire 2 box pass UHD 4K 10 bit? I have one, just got my Yamaha 3060 and got Monoprice Cabernet 45' cables yesterday, so I could try it out today.
Having some issues with the Fire. It's only passing 1080p with Prime content. Using the Fire w/YouTube, it is passing 4K, but I have my old HDMI 1.4 cable hooked up. My JVC is happy with the 4K @ 30 . Until I am sure the Fire is working properly, I can't properly test my cables.

I may pick up the Sammy 4K player tonight when I run the new cable.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #65 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
ps i cant imagine the samsung not meeting spec...they are a major oem, and doubt would have got hdmi certification otherwise
After reading this article, almost anything is possible.

"[The problem] was the output HDMI processor (chip) producing incorrect TMDS voltage thresholds"
http://www.cepro.com/article/hdmi_co...hoot_problems#

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #66 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
We're going to hold you to that!
Sure thing! Spoke directly with the engineer at length. The cable is presently at DPL labs for certification and will be unveiled at CEDIA in September. I will be buying this cable...

Last edited by G-Rex; 08-06-2016 at 12:11 PM.
G-Rex is offline  
post #67 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by ereed View Post
Can you at least disclose the price or thickness/flexibility of the cable?
I believe he said 24 gauge. It has a flexible design and will not stress HDMI inputs/outputs as I specifically asked about this. I was not given a price, but it will be more $$ than Monoprice HDMI cables, but below the price of some of the AudioQuest HDMI cables. It is not a boutique type cable.

Last edited by G-Rex; 08-06-2016 at 12:10 PM.
G-Rex is offline  
post #68 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
davisnub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
There will be a copper HDMI (non-optical) option coming in September/October that will pass 18 gbps in lengths over 20 meters. Not sure I have permission to disclose the details just yet, so I better not.

Of note, it is not a Monoprice/Redmere technology.
at this point, I think I'll wait for that AND the oppo player. For those that are speculating about the samsung player. I received the phillips player and compared its performance against the samsung using the same luxe 35ft cable. Both have issues going into the menu under 4k @ 4:4:4. However, the phillips can immediately play a disc at 4K HDR once it's loaded. The samsung still required some manipulation to get the movie going even after skipping the main menu.
davisnub is offline  
post #69 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
24AWG makes sense. DPL is one of the two cable mfrs that have a rather vigorous testing/certification program, much like BJC, even tho I believe BJC uses an ATC for certification which is fine (they follow HDMI Licensing specifications for certification). Things are looking up, finally. AudioQuest is like Monster in that they are way overpriced for what you get, regardless of what their slick marketing/packaging says.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #70 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Just so you all know, though this new passive cable will allow 18 gbps at lengths greater than 20 meters, there is a bit more to it/another requirement. Will update with more info when able.
G-Rex is offline  
post #71 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
24AWG makes sense. DPL is one of the two cable mfrs that have a rather vigorous testing/certification program, much like BJC, even tho I believe BJC uses an ATC for certification which is fine (they follow HDMI Licensing specifications for certification). Things are looking up, finally. AudioQuest is like Monster in that they are way overpriced for what you get, regardless of what their slick marketing/packaging says.
I do like the AQ Carbon HDMI cable, but this new cable has caused me to hold off ordering it.
G-Rex is offline  
post #72 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,497
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1057 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post
After reading this article, almost anything is possible.

"[The problem] was the output HDMI processor (chip) producing incorrect TMDS voltage thresholds"
http://www.cepro.com/article/hdmi_co...hoot_problems#
Great article.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
My Atmos Renovation Part 1 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-1
My Atmos Renovation Part 2 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-2
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #73 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
I believe he said 24 gauge. It has a flexible design and will not stress HDMI inputs/outputs as I specifically asked about this. I was not given a price, but it will be more $$ than Monoprice HDMI cables, but below the price of some of the AudioQuest HDMI cables. It is not a boutique type cable.
As long as it works I don't care if its plain looking! It still amazes me people buy best looking cable when they don't even see it when its hooked up behind the equipment. Funny how they think better looking = better quality and that is how people get ripped off!

Theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
post #74 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
Just so you all know, though this new passive cable will allow 18 gbps at lengths greater than 20 meters, there is a bit more to it/another requirement. Will update with more info when able.
18Gbps sustained at 60' on a passive cable, with bends? Hmm, we'll just have to wait and see.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #75 of 908 Old 08-06-2016, 09:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
18Gbps sustained at 60' on a passive cable, with bends? Hmm, we'll just have to wait and see.
I want to be a bit more clear here. To get 18 gbps at 20 meters + you will need to use this soon to be announced passive cable, but another tech must be used along with it.
G-Rex is offline  
post #76 of 908 Old 08-07-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Yeah, an active extender. I got it.
Ratman likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #77 of 908 Old 08-09-2016, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1703 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
I want to be a bit more clear here. To get 18 gbps at 20 meters + you will need to use this soon to be announced passive cable, but another tech must be used along with it.
I can only image an 12" diameter conduit to run that cable thru.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #78 of 908 Old 08-11-2016, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hiredgoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuck Land
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I got cheap kenable cables off of amazon, 25 feet.

So far they worked well with Xbox One S, Deadpool HDR enabled.
Hiredgoon is offline  
post #79 of 908 Old 08-11-2016, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
I got cheap kenable cables off of amazon, 25 feet.

So far they worked well with Xbox One S, Deadpool HDR enabled.
Good to hear however please do post what other gear is in chain. So apart from the x box oneS is there AV avr ... What is it ... and what display/projector
This is important to know as often it is s combination of gear that works ... Other combinations might not ...
alebonau is offline  
post #80 of 908 Old 08-14-2016, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Rengozu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: TN
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
wish you all the luck



no problem here at 10m/ 35ft

Well, had the 8m Audioquest Forest HDMI and checked them out with a couple movies before running them through the wall and all seemed to be good. So then I ran them through the pipe and was heartbroken to see I was short about 4 inches. The way everything is all mounted there's not so much room to work with.

So I went back to the local store to talk possible solutions and he pulled out a discontinued 10m Audioquest Forest from the back that they didn't even have on display. I'd never seen online, but the box still had all the same high-speed labels like the 8m did, and I was pretty excited to see since once you get to the 12m Forest, the box specifications label it as Standard speed.

Got it all hooked up, but now I randomly get video signal losses. Audio plays through fine but the picture can go out about 10-15 seconds at a time from the projector. Never consistent either. Can watch a complete movie flawlessly, or might get one that drops the signal 2-5 times. Maybe that's why they don't make that size anymore? And I can turn down the resolution to 1080p and can't make it happen, but that kinda defeats the purpose. No fun.



Samsung 4k -> Marantz 8802a -> JVC RS600
Rengozu is offline  
post #81 of 908 Old 08-14-2016, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rengozu View Post
Well, had the 8m Audioquest Forest HDMI and checked them out with a couple movies before running them through the wall and all seemed to be good. So then I ran them through the pipe and was heartbroken to see I was short about 4 inches. The way everything is all mounted there's not so much room to work with.

So I went back to the local store to talk possible solutions and he pulled out a discontinued 10m Audioquest Forest from the back that they didn't even have on display. I'd never seen online, but the box still had all the same high-speed labels like the 8m did, and I was pretty excited to see since once you get to the 12m Forest, the box specifications label it as Standard speed.

Got it all hooked up, but now I randomly get video signal losses. Audio plays through fine but the picture can go out about 10-15 seconds at a time from the projector. Never consistent either. Can watch a complete movie flawlessly, or might get one that drops the signal 2-5 times. Maybe that's why they don't make that size anymore? And I can turn down the resolution to 1080p and can't make it happen, but that kinda defeats the purpose. No fun.



Samsung 4k -> Marantz 8802a -> JVC RS600
what a bummer, seems like 8m is the limit for uhd blu-ray and the audio quest forest...

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #82 of 908 Old 08-14-2016, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,411
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
8m (24'). Seems like the 20' limit is the problem, again, at least for this setup.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #83 of 908 Old 08-15-2016, 04:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 96
So I ordered the Cabernet Ultra CL2 Active High Speed HDMI® Cable, 45ft and hooked it up about a week ago from the AVR to the Projector. I got the Philips 4k bluray player and after having some setup issues, got it setup for 4k 4:4:4 output. I'm using a 6 ft Cabernet Ultra from the Philips to the Yamaha AVR. The JVC is reporting that it is getting 4k @ 8 bit color depth when playing Netflix. Playing Creed (UHD BluRay) it is not reporting color depth (just blank).

Not seeing anything in 10 bit, but I'm not sure I have any material in 10 bit to check.
alebonau likes this.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #84 of 908 Old 08-15-2016, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post
So I ordered the Cabernet Ultra CL2 Active High Speed HDMI® Cable, 45ft and hooked it up about a week ago from the AVR to the Projector. I got the Philips 4k bluray player and after having some setup issues, got it setup for 4k 4:4:4 output. I'm using a 6 ft Cabernet Ultra from the Philips to the Yamaha AVR. The JVC is reporting that it is getting 4k @ 8 bit color depth when playing Netflix. Playing Creed (UHD BluRay) it is not reporting color depth (just blank).

Not seeing anything in 10 bit, but I'm not sure I have any material in 10 bit to check.
I'd say thats good news !

not sure on the phillips/yamaha feeding the jvc,

but with sammy and marantz feeding the jvc X7000 below is what I get on the jvc info screens

the jvc info screen showing format the sammy splash screen comes through at,

 
the jvc info screen showing format a UHD blu-ray comes through at,

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #85 of 908 Old 08-18-2016, 02:56 PM
Member
 
g.j.martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Just got an OLED65B6P and running connection to xbox 1 s followed by a DirecTV also

Are these AudioQuest cables worth it? I have an old Forest Audio Quest but its too short (6ft) I paid about 50 or 60.00 with a price match a while back, I notice they are 80-100+ now. I need HDMI 2.0a as far as I know at about 12-15 ft. Is 2.0 the same as 2.0a?
g.j.martin is offline  
post #86 of 908 Old 08-18-2016, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Quote:
Originally Posted by g.j.martin View Post
Just got an OLED65B6P and running connection to xbox 1 s followed by a DirecTV also

Are these AudioQuest cables worth it? I have an old Forest Audio Quest but its too short (6ft) I paid about 50 or 60.00 with a price match a while back, I notice they are 80-100+ now. I need HDMI 2.0a as far as I know at about 12-15 ft. Is 2.0 the same as 2.0a?
cables dont have a hdmi version number sorry. the version numbers refer to equipment and capability.

am not really sure cables in the 12 ft range are going to be a real bother. some makers are going wiht premium high speed certification e.g. mono price have a cable that should have you covered,
http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15430

in anycase Iwould suggest with hdmi cables always buy from a retailer that allows returns if doesnt meet up to requirement.

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #87 of 908 Old 08-19-2016, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1703 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post
So I ordered the Cabernet Ultra CL2 Active High Speed HDMI® Cable, 45ft and hooked it up about a week ago from the AVR to the Projector. I got the Philips 4k bluray player and after having some setup issues, got it setup for 4k 4:4:4 output. I'm using a 6 ft Cabernet Ultra from the Philips to the Yamaha AVR. The JVC is reporting that it is getting 4k @ 8 bit color depth when playing Netflix. Playing Creed (UHD BluRay) it is not reporting color depth (just blank).

Not seeing anything in 10 bit, but I'm not sure I have any material in 10 bit to check.
This is pointless. You do not need active cable for 6 feet length. OTOH, it may actually become a problem.
Use a passive cable, preferably.
alebonau likes this.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #88 of 908 Old 08-19-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Monoprice has new cable that says it can do 330 feet for 4K at 60hz. This cable seems to have optical fiber instead of copper wire. Little expensive but might be best solution for some of you with long runs at 4K. Worth a try! http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=14232

They also have in wall CL2 Rated spec just like it but more expensive.
http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=14314

Theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
post #89 of 908 Old 08-19-2016, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Just saw slimrun hdmi line by monoprice is 4K at 60hz but the CL2 rated version is 4K at 30hz for 100 meters. Keep that in mind the differences.

Theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
post #90 of 908 Old 08-19-2016, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
This is pointless. You do not need active cable for 6 feet length. OTOH, it may actually become a problem.
Use a passive cable, preferably.
Pointless? A $10 cable with a full return policy, lifetime warranty and it works. Are you just trolling?

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off