Is the 50ft the maximum HDMI cable can run without degradation? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-21-2017, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is the 50ft the maximum HDMI cable can run without degradation?

I'm thinking about running HDMI cable from my AVR in the basement to my HDTV in the living room. I wonder what the maximum length is for HDMI cable before it starts losing quality. Does anyone of a good wireless HDMI unit? Perhaps that is an alternative.

Thank you.
2Charlie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-21-2017, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Charlie View Post
I'm thinking about running HDMI cable from my AVR in the basement to my HDTV in the living room. I wonder what the maximum length is for HDMI cable before it starts losing quality. Does anyone of a good wireless HDMI unit? Perhaps that is an alternative.
HMDI is a digital signal, so it doesn't lose quality-- it either works or doesn't.
If the length is right on the borderline, you'll get dropouts.

You can get passive cables up to about 60' for 1080p, but 4k tends to be marginal at such lengths. You can also get active HDMI cables which are longer-- up to about 100' for copper wire or ~350' for fibre optic cabling (very expensive), but they tend to compress the signal in a lossy fashion. Still:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016KOQ3VY

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-21-2017, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
You can also get active HDMI cables which are longer-- up to about 100' for copper wire or ~350' for fibre optic cabling (very expensive), but they tend to compress the signal in a lossy fashion. Still:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016KOQ3VY
Thanks! I believed that is the HDMI dable I got for wiring from my AVR to my projector home theater. So, I guess as long as I get an active HDMI, it could potentially use the 100' then, right?. Thanks again.
2Charlie is online now  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 09-22-2017, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Charlie View Post
I'm thinking about running HDMI cable from my AVR in the basement to my HDTV in the living room. I wonder what the maximum length is for HDMI cable before it starts losing quality. Does anyone of a good wireless HDMI unit? Perhaps that is an alternative.

Thank you.
Wireless HDMI is questionable at best. Especially if you want to push something more than 1080p longer than about 20'. This is also true for the higher video standards (4K, 4K HDR, etc). Your best bet is to use optical installed in conduit. The use of conduit will make it easier to upgrade your cabling, which you eventually need to do. Using conduit is the only way to "future proof" your cabling.
rboster likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-26-2017, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thank you for the help. I have decided to purchase the active HDMI cable from Monoprice. I have drop ceiling so it's not too bad to run cables, I guess.
2Charlie is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-26-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Charlie View Post
Thank you for the help. I have decided to purchase the active HDMI cable from Monoprice. I have drop ceiling so it's not too bad to run cables, I guess.
You never did answer my question on what you want to push. 1080p should be no problem with an active cable. 4k, 4k HDR will be unless you go with something like Ruipro fiber. Pay attention to bend radius as well. Use a conduit if you can.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-26-2017, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
At the moment it'll mostly be 1080P but I planed for 4K HDR when it's available.
2Charlie is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-26-2017, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,327
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Cable length - is key to delivering a stable solution. 100' (30m) is very marginal for HD (1080p) and never going to work reliably with UHD (2160p) with a conventional copper cable.

Active HDMI - are an option for HD and a partial option for UHD (they will currently impose some limitations on what signal formats the cable will carry).

HD over CAT6 - is another option though again with limitations at UHD.

Fibre HDMI and Hybrid Fibre HDMI - are the only current option if you want to support everything UHD BD and high end gaming offers.

Conduit - as others have said is always the best option - though maybe not such an issue for you if you can easily replace a cable.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

Ruipro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial system Design, Consultancy, Installation, Supply and Integration.
Joe Fernand is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-26-2017, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
+1
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-27-2017, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks, Joe. That is very helpful. Any particular brands you like?

I have found these so far. They are similar pricing and I'm not sure which is better.

RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable
MyCableMart 66ft Ultra HIGH SPEED HDMI 22Gb Fiber Optic/Hybrid Cable
2Charlie is online now  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-27-2017, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is FSR DR-PCB Digital Fiber Optic HDMI Cable any difference?

2Charlie is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-27-2017, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,327
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 225
We have supplied a few of the Celerity Fibre HDMI and lots of the Ruipro Hybrid Fibre HDMI - the Ruipro drop into pretty much any system and 'act' like a conventional HDMI cable, whereas the Celerity can add a fair bit of time to the startup handshake and Source Switching handshake.

Ruipro has sorted a few problems folk were having with other 'Fibre' solutions.

I haven'd tried the other two cables you link to.

Joe
Joe Fernand is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-28-2017, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
2Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks! I've purchased the Ruipro and it'll be here today.
2Charlie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off