Does it matter if HDMI is gold-plated? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 01-20-2007, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
XboxEboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDMI cables at Monoprice are generally $10 more to get them "gold-plated."

DOes it really make a difference?
XboxEboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 01-20-2007, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im going to guess no. Its my understanding the digital either works or doesnt and if a cheap cable with no gold works, one which is pure gold and hand terminated by the Dali Lama Himself wouldnt make it better.

I could be wrong thou. I just bought 4, 2 foot HDMI cables from blue jeans and the whole order came to $56.00. They all work great. I was at BB today and saw 1 HDMI cable for $250!! Thats right $250!!!!! Salesman said it was because of stonger pins etc.
vancouver is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 01-20-2007, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm going to guess yes!
Since gold dosen't tarnish the connection should be more stable than connectors that oxidize.

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 01-21-2007, 06:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But gold sometimes means gold color and not actual gold. Actual gold plating is usually so thin it doesn't last long. A high moisture content is required to effect galvanic corrosion between dissimilar metals. If it does take place, it corrodes the weaker metal. If the jack does not have gold plated connectors, gold plated cables in a high moisture environment can be a bad thing. In such an environment, the important thing is to match the metals in the jack and the cable end.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 01-22-2007, 10:39 AM
Member
 
packetlosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For any metal to metal connection, gold plating reduces the chance of corrosion. So for HDMI gold plating does help.

For an optical connection, it serves no purpose.
packetlosss is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 01-23-2007, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I posted this in another thread. Look at Periodic Table of the Elements You will see Cu, Ag, & Au (Copper, Silver, & Gold in that order) stacked on top of each other in the "Transitory Metals" area.

Suffice it to say, that Cu, Ag, & Au are (again in that order) good, gooder, & "goodest" conducters.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 01-23-2007, 12:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by packetlosss View Post

For any metal to metal connection, gold plating reduces the chance of corrosion. So for HDMI gold plating does help.

Real gold plating helps the gold plated connector. It can hurt a non-gold connector it's mated with. In dry environments, it really doesn't matter. In wet environments, tin on tin is better than gold on tin.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 01-23-2007, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
lastxbr960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glendale, Wi
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought silver was a better conductor than gold, but since it can tarnish gold plate is usually added.
lastxbr960 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 01-23-2007, 10:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Silver is better than copper and copper is better than anything else. Both tarnish easily. The length of passage of electricity through connector plating is near zero. Resistance only matters as length of run increases.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 01-26-2007, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
HDMI_Org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDMI specification puts minimum requirements in place for any HDMI connector and cable, no matte what material or color they are made with. We designed the HDMI spec so that any cable that meets the specification will be able to reliably transmit the HDMI signal between compliant devices.
HDMI_Org is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 01-26-2007, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
bruinsrme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does one know if a cable meets specs?
bruinsrme is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 01-26-2007, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
HDMI_Org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All HDMI cables are required to meet the HDMI spec- no exceptions. However, it is difficult to closely monitor every HDMI cable due to the large number of cable manufacturers and products coming out.

Some general guidelines we recommend:
-look for the HDMI logo, and this tends to be used by manufacturers that clearly understand that the logo can only be used for products that have been compliance tested.
-look for a SimplayHD logo, which is a separately run testing service that checks cables to the highest HDMI standard called a Category 2 cable (i.e. 1080p tested).

If we find devices which do not meet the spec and/or cause failures in interoperability, we do our best to take actions to address it, and we welcome feedback from consumers to report on any failures they have seen from specific devices.
HDMI_Org is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 01-30-2007, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
XboxEboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI_Org View Post

All HDMI cables are required to meet the HDMI spec- no exceptions. However, it is difficult to closely monitor every HDMI cable due to the large number of cable manufacturers and products coming out.

Some general guidelines we recommend:
-look for the HDMI logo, and this tends to be used by manufacturers that clearly understand that the logo can only be used for products that have been compliance tested.
-look for a SimplayHD logo, which is a separately run testing service that checks cables to the highest HDMI standard called a Category 2 cable (i.e. 1080p tested).

If we find devices which do not meet the spec and/or cause failures in interoperability, we do our best to take actions to address it, and we welcome feedback from consumers to report on any failures they have seen from specific devices.

I don't believe the HDMI cable I ordered from Mono has the logo.
XboxEboy is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 01-30-2007, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Abdomen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to the OP's question, go for the gold in life but not in HDMI cables. If it works you're golden. Okay, okay, I'm stopping.
Abdomen is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 01-31-2007, 07:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxEboy View Post

I don't believe the HDMI cable I ordered from Mono has the logo.

Refers to the source and reception equipment, not the cable. Don't worry about it.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 01-31-2007, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
XboxEboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder what version of HDMI monoprice is selling? Crutchfield's recent catalogue has a great article on HDMI.
Also:
If your digitial cable or satelite feed is coming in using co-axil, what's the point? Isn't co-axil analogue? So it's already a down-graded signal, so why send it through HDMI or even component? Just use co-axil to go from your receiver to TV? Can someone explain this?
XboxEboy is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 01-31-2007, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
bruinsrme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even though the signal is coming in on Coax, I have chosen to utilize the HDMI link for continuity within the overall system, reduction of cabling, and to have one device providing the input switching for the system.

PS3 ----------------------------\\
Cable box ---------------------\\
Extra input --------------------/ OCTAVA HDMI switch ------> Plasma
Pioneer dvd 59avi------------/ with toslink ------>Receiver

Turn on the receiver, TV andsource and the HDMI switch selects the source.

Prior to HDMI intro my HT had over 50 various video and sound connection points
With HDMI the number of connection points is less than half.

Though Coax the cable provides transmit a digital signal for the digital channels. So the digital cable boxes take the super compressed digital signals, uncompresses and distributes the sinformation to the TV. The uncompressed data can be sent to the TV in analog or digital; 1. digital processing HDMI or the analog processing (component, s-video, or composite outputs. Some of the cable boxes have the ability to upscale the video, for instance (480i to 480p).

What really sets blue ray and HDDVD apart from the cable signal is cable is heavily compressed where BR and HD are not.



"Digital Cable allows for the broadcast of EDTV (480p) as well as HDTV (720p, 1080i, and eventually 1080p). By contrast, analog cable transmits programs solely in the 480i format (the lowest television definition)."

As far as HDMI goes, I like it. The cable clutter of my HT is slowly diminishing.
Gold HDMI vs no Gold. interesting. Not sure how much difference I would see but I for one would like to see a test bewteen the two.
bruinsrme is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 06-18-2010, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
manjucil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course dude, Signal and data quality differs from any other connectors.
manjucil is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 06-21-2010, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
irfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxEboy View Post

I wonder what version of HDMI monoprice is selling? Crutchfield's recent catalogue has a great article on HDMI.
Also:
If your digitial cable or satelite feed is coming in using co-axil, what's the point? Isn't co-axil analogue? So it's already a down-graded signal, so why send it through HDMI or even component? Just use co-axil to go from your receiver to TV? Can someone explain this?

depends really on the compression, and coax can still carry very high bandwith (way higher than 1080p needs). they require proprietary decryption though, so you then need a box. from that box you should use the highest quality connection to prevent further image quality deterioration.

Also, coax is just a cable.. analogue used to be run over it, and now its all digital. digital bandwith on coax is VERY high. dont confuse a digital signal over coax with the old analog fuzzy pictures.
irfan is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off