HDMI/DVI compatibility - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-18-2007, 03:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsvends1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Due to the lack of an appropriate forum section, I'll just post this here.
My set-up:
Toshiba HD-XE1, a Denon 3930, and a Playstation 3.
Cable1: Gefen fiber 10m DVI-DVI w/DVI-HDMI adapter on source end.
Cable2: Kramer fiber 20m HDMI-HDMI w/HDMI-DVI adpter at receiver end.

Toshiba: cable1 - no picture or snow, cable2 - picture
Denon: cable1 - picture, cable2 - blinking picture (on/off)
PS3: cable1 - picture, cable2 - picture

Tried different projectors, same result. Cable2 even has an extra 5V psu, so I find the results here very confusing. Any suggestions?
bsvends1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-18-2007, 04:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsvends1 View Post

Due to the lack of an appropriate forum section, I'll just post this here.
My set-up:
Toshiba HD-XE1, a Denon 3930, and a Playstation 3.
Cable1: Gefen fiber 10m DVI-DVI w/DVI-HDMI adapter on source end.
Cable2: Kramer fiber 20m HDMI-HDMI w/HDMI-DVI adpter at receiver end.

Toshiba: cable1 - no picture or snow, cable2 - picture
Denon: cable1 - picture, cable2 - blinking picture (on/off)
PS3: cable1 - picture, cable2 - picture

Tried different projectors, same result. Cable2 even has an extra 5V psu, so I find the results here very confusing. Any suggestions?

Try the HDMI forum:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...ysprune=&f=168

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-18-2007, 05:03 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Moved to HDMI forum.

Was the PS3 used with a Blu-Ray movie? If not, the PS3 may not be using HDCP. Your symptoms are "classic" HDCP handshake issues. This could be caused by cable/connector issues and "quirks" in the HDMI/DVI implementations in the gear.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-18-2007, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsvends1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know this issue is not related to HDCP since the picture problems occurs before loading any DVD. The PS3 is the only player here with no issues.
bsvends1 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-18-2007, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
maddogmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried these equipment combinations with an all copper cable solution?

It would be interesting to know if the electro/optical conversion implementation was flawed on both cables only in different ways.

"I'm a fanatic without a cause and I believe in it!" - B. D. G.
maddogmc is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsvends1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the HDCP seems to be in effect even without any movies in the players. Anyway, just got a shorter Gefen HDMI-HDMI w/DVI adapter and things work great.
bsvends1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-21-2007, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
HDMI_Org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If a new (shorter) cable fixes the problem, it sounds like your previous cables were marginal. Glad to hear you got things working.
HDMI_Org is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off