anyone else have problems with "loose" hdmi connection on tv? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-23-2007, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S.E. michigan
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, just trying to figure out if its my cable or the tv.

the tv is a sony kdl 46"xbr2. 2weeks old.

the cable is a bettercables, silver serpent hdmi.

i never noticed this before, but i have taken the tv off the wall, (unplugged the hdmi) about 3 times , for various reasons. now something is loose. i cant tell if its the cable or tv . if i plug it in, it wont pick up the signal sometimes unless i shake it or something. then its fine, but is this normal with hdmi?
crod1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-23-2007, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmcdayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
check out the hdmi: rant post. Lots have complained about loose HDMI.

You can try slightly bending the connector end slightly, just to create some pressure for the connection.

Its not just a hobby, its a 401K reduction plan.
dmcdayton is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-24-2007, 05:08 AM
Moderator
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 21,698
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 3923
There's also something called "port savers". Search in this forum and try monoprice.com.

larry

And the pantaloon duck, white gooseneck quacked: Webcor, Webcor
PooperScooper is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 04-24-2007, 05:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 25,917
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1035 Post(s)
Liked: 2273
link to port savers

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=

In many cases the HDMI connector on the TV is mounted only to a circuit card and can break loose: I have seen reports on this with Sony models and some problems getting Sony to fix it under warranty: be careful to insert the connector gently

This is where the port saver comes in handy: you connect/disconnect to the port saver instead of the TV: I use them and no, it should not affect PQ

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
markrubin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-08-2007, 10:26 AM
Member
 
SmasHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it worth it, I have the KDF-46E2000 i dont have any problem with my hdmi connectors but i dont want any ! I'm living in canada hope it doe'nt end too expensive.
SmasHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off