Indigita AVHD IEEE 1394 Hard Disc Drive - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 616 Old 08-17-2010, 05:36 AM
Member
 
1080PNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoombs View Post

I have a couple of brand new 500GB Maxtor Quickview DVR drives with images loaded for the Indigita-based units if anyone is interested. I also have an unopened RCA DVR2080 (perfect for putting one of the 500GB drives in). Feel free to PM me for details.

PM sent, sorry I haven't been here for awhile.
1080PNUT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 616 Old 08-19-2010, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
hdradioguy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed. Great points.
hdradioguy53 is offline  
post #603 of 616 Old 08-26-2010, 10:10 AM
Member
 
1080PNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoombs View Post

I have a couple of brand new 500GB Maxtor Quickview DVR drives with images loaded for the Indigita-based units if anyone is interested. I also have an unopened RCA DVR2080 (perfect for putting one of the 500GB drives in).

Thanks for making this drive available, my experience so far. Installed in RCA DVR2160, no go. Installed in Cinemavu DVR10, success. Difference? DVR10 has different Indigita board. It is marked PN: 720-063 REV L ©2005. DVR2160 is marked MODEL 720-063 ©2003. I have another Cinemavu DVR10 with the earlier board that I haven't tried yet, will report shortly.
1080PNUT is offline  
post #604 of 616 Old 08-26-2010, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
scoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Baltimore/Washington Corridor
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting, let me know what else you find out. I have tested it in an RCA DVR2080 and a DVR2160, both of which have identical 720-063 ©2003 control boards with the little white REV spot blank, and no issues. I have another DVR2080 that I have never opened, but it is from the same era as the others so I would not expect it to have a different control board.

I don't know what control board is in it, but I know the image is also working in another user's AVHD-40 unit.
scoombs is offline  
post #605 of 616 Old 08-26-2010, 11:30 PM
Member
 
1080PNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Installed 500gb drive in 3rd unit with older board and it worked. Swapped back into DVR2160 that had initially barfed, and go figure, it's working. Might be my Toshiba TV, it gets confused easily. Next test, restoring ~14gb of spanned ghost images from BD-R to another Maxtor drive. http://shindigita.com/products/custo...ions/avpc.html
1080PNUT is offline  
post #606 of 616 Old 08-28-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,784
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Was this AVPC board ever sold to the public?
Not sure what the use of it would be? Maybe they thought it could be integrated with Windows Media Center through MS DRM and allow the PC to see the protected content on the hidden partition? Intriguing. I though Indigita went belly up a couple years ago?
qz3fwd is offline  
post #607 of 616 Old 08-29-2010, 10:18 PM
Member
 
1080PNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would love to have one of those boards. The way I read it, it uses a hard drive on your computer to create a hidden, encrypted partition that would be available as an AVC device for your firewire connection, but in no way readable by the operating system. The part I find intriguing is how the sizing of the partition would be done, and the possibility of using other types of SATA devices to populate that connection. But I guess we'll never find out since firewire is almost as dead as Indigita .....
1080PNUT is offline  
post #608 of 616 Old 12-14-2010, 04:02 AM
Newbie
 
sapman1208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody find a work around to put a larger drive in one of these systems without needing an image of a same sized drive? I'm interested in buying one of these but want at least 500gb of space. The largest ide drive is 750gb but I'm assuming nobody has gotten one of these to work??
sapman1208 is offline  
post #609 of 616 Old 12-14-2010, 05:19 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sapman1208 View Post

Anybody find a work around to put a larger drive in one of these systems without needing an image of a same sized drive? I'm interested in buying one of these but want at least 500gb of space. The largest ide drive is 750gb but I'm assuming nobody has gotten one of these to work??

I would also be interested in a way to easily do an image burn to a larger hard drive or purchase on (for a reasonable price).

Also, On my Mitsubishi LT-46231 the recorded programs don't show up properly all the time.


Once I record programs to my RCA 2160 Scenium HDD DVR it rarely shows the correct name of the show I have recorded. Sometimes it will show something like:

W 01/01 12:01pm

Or:

WMSM M 03/23 7.00pm ANT-1 Ch 21-1

When it should say:

WMSM M 03/23 7.00pm Antique Road Show
Phase700B is offline  
post #610 of 616 Old 12-14-2010, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
sapman1208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can only find the Symbio 160HD4 and the RCA DVR2080 available online. I'm assuming to get one to be able to have 500gb of storage that I could only use the RCA DVR2080. I would then need to get a 500gb IDE drive. Would anybody be interested in hosting an image file for a 500gb Indigita/Cinemavu so I can get this to work? I'm hoping this isn't a total shot in the dark considering I'm more than 3 years late on this technology.
sapman1208 is offline  
post #611 of 616 Old 12-14-2010, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
L David Matheny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

I would also be interested in a way to easily do an image burn to a larger hard drive or purchase on (for a reasonable price).

Also, On my Mitsubishi LT-46231 the recorded programs don't show up properly all the time.


Once I record programs to my RCA 2160 Scenium HDD DVR it rarely shows the correct name of the show I have recorded. Sometimes it will show something like:

W 01/01 12:01pm

Or:

WMSM M 03/23 7.00pm ANT-1 Ch 21-1

When it should say:

WMSM M 03/23 7.00pm Antique Road Show

As I recall, it's fairly simple to clone an AVHD drive to a new drive of equal or larger size (using Acronis or whatever), but it will use only the amount of space used on the original drive. If anyone has figured out how to patch the partition table to enlarge the (non-standard) partition to fill a larger drive, I haven't heard about it.

When your LT-46231 doesn't record names properly in the AVHD directory, are the names showing up properly in the TV's PSIP list? It's been a while since I actually used an AVHD, but sometimes my LT-46131 seems to stop showing PSIP program names. I believe a soft reset using the front-panel button generally fixed that, although some recording issues required power cycling the AVHD unit. (I've been using a TiVo for a while, so I'm rusty.)
L David Matheny is online now  
post #612 of 616 Old 12-18-2010, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,784
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Well you could also import an AVHDD from japan where they have up to 2TB units.
http://auctions.search.yahoo.co.jp/s...erce&ei=euc-jp
OR
amazon japan - search for rec pot.
I have a 1TB unit. BTW-the new units wont be avaliable much longer, i'll see to that within the next 30 days.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #613 of 616 Old 12-24-2010, 10:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info....

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #614 of 616 Old 02-23-2011, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
x-indigita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post

As I recall, it's fairly simple to clone an AVHD drive to a new drive of equal or larger size (using Acronis or whatever), but it will use only the amount of space used on the original drive. If anyone has figured out how to patch the partition table to enlarge the (non-standard) partition to fill a larger drive, I haven't heard about it.

It is not possible because the hard drive's filesystem has the size of the disk baked in to its format and it is encrypted on the disk. The Indigita firmware is capable of formatting the disk itself but that functionality was never hooked to a user accessible interface. Sadly I believe the internal debug serial port (shh.. it's a secret) will not take input by default (though it may print interesting messages if you hook it up right).

Cloning a disk is the best you can do (easily) but even that doesn't work 100% of the time since sometimes OEMs insist on different HD encryption keys to purposefully be incompatible with the other OEMs.

~x
x-indigita is offline  
post #615 of 616 Old 02-24-2011, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
L David Matheny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by x-indigita View Post
It is not possible because the hard drive's filesystem has the size of the disk baked in to its format and it is encrypted on the disk. The Indigita firmware is capable of formatting the disk itself but that functionality was never hooked to a user accessible interface. Sadly I believe the internal debug serial port (shh.. it's a secret) will not take input by default (though it may print interesting messages if you hook it up right).

Cloning a disk is the best you can do (easily) but even that doesn't work 100% of the time since sometimes OEMs insist on different HD encryption keys to purposefully be incompatible with the other OEMs.

~x
That's fascinating information. Thank you!

By "OEMs" are you referring to the manufacturers of the AVHD enclosures, as opposed to the manufacturers of the internal 3.5" hard drives?

Is Indigita (or CinemaVu or Intellasys or anybody) still selling and/or supporting these AVHD drives? Thanks again.
L David Matheny is online now  
post #616 of 616 Old 02-24-2011, 01:52 AM
Newbie
 
x-indigita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
By "OEMs" are you referring to the manufacturers of the AVHD enclosures, as opposed to the manufacturers of the internal 3.5" hard drives?
The AVHD OEMs. The 3.5 drives are more or less commodity--they have A/V firmware (which lets you limit the time error correction takes) but I don't think the A/V part is actually enabled. There's nothing magic about the drives.

Quote:
Is Indigita (or CinemaVu or Intellasys or anybody) still selling and/or supporting these AVHD drives? Thanks again.
Inidigita changed its name to Shindigita and then got sold. I'm pretty sure no more AVHDs are being made and I can't find any remnant of the company online.

1394 on TVs seems to have died out with DLPs...

~x
x-indigita is offline  
Reply Firewire 1394 Trade Association Q&A

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off