Indigita AVHD IEEE 1394 Hard Disc Drive - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 616 Old 12-07-2005, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kipp K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Southern Oregon Coast
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might help:

English version






Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

These devices sound similar to the IOData RecPot on sale in Japan. These are being used by Panasonic in the UK to demo their HD Ready plasmas, along with a Japanese set-top box to provide MPEG2 decoding duties. The RecPot seems to be an iLink hard-drive that emulates a D-VHS VCR (and in the case of Panasonic is shipped to dealers with a Panasonic branded 1080/60i HD demo loop recorded on it)

http://www.iodata.jp/prod/multimedia...-hdf/index.htm

Is the product page - sadly I'm only one term in to my japanese course...


Mits 1080p DLP WD-52628
Mits WT-46809
Dish HD DVR 942
Sony DVP-NS70H
Kipp K. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
There is all kind of 'stuff' available in Japan that never even makes it here.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #63 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Nathan_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paducah KY
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My 2160 arrived yesterday. It's actually funny-- it was shipped from four blocks away from my house.

I don't have a cablecard in my Mits 52628 DLP, but Comcast is sending some QAM HD stations in the clear (local network affiliates). I successfully recorded one of the CSIs in HD and some Simpsons reruns on our WB affiliate.

The DVR2160 worked flawlessly and had no problems recognizing the individual HD stations among the dozens of cable "subchannels" in the stream. I'm not used to cable terminolgy yet, so please forgive the "subchannel" term. What I mean is that among 82 subchannels on channel 102, it recognized CBS-HD on say channel 102-43. I hope I'm making sense.

PSN: KyFriedNate
Nathan_R is offline  
 
post #64 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
I thought this was a Indigita thread............

Do you have any 'digital' channels other than OTA locals? BTW, your terminology is correct. Channel 102 subchannel 43 would be correct. Your cable company would renumber it to something else.

Who did you get it from? I think you are one of the few sucess stories that I have seen.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #65 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Nathan_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paducah KY
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Comcast completed its digital simulcast recently, and I have my whole lineup (except premium channels) in the clear.

To be clear, I have no OTA antenna connected. The feed is coming directly from Comcast. My OTA feed for CBS is 46-1, but the cable company pipes it out on 102-45 or something like that.

The 2160 came from HD Toystore company mentioned earlier in the thread.

I'll work on ghosting the rca image onto a larger drive this weekend.

PSN: KyFriedNate
Nathan_R is offline  
post #66 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

I thought this was a Indigita thread............

It is, That is who made the RCA unit.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...13#post6683313
powered by this chip Powered by Indigita http://www.indigita.com/products/asic/ind60c32.html
yep I had to open up the box for a look inside.
The drive is a maxtor Diamond max 16 ata/133
Maxtor called it QuickView

The only differences I see is RCA supplied a nice little cooling fan & RCA place some nice side caps on the unit, the case it self has a very heavy brushed look.
The U.S patent number 6,151,443 also matches that of the pictures supplied in a earlier post.
RCA placed the U.S patent number information on the bottom of the drive.
Diode1 is offline  
post #67 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan_R View Post

My 2160 arrived yesterday. It's actually funny-- it was shipped from four blocks away from my house.

HDToy store just used a distributor that has about 30 locations around the country
Diode1 is offline  
post #68 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan_R View Post

I'll work on ghosting the rca image onto a larger drive this weekend.

Please let me know how that goes, I maybe interested in getting a image of the drive.
I can send you dvd +R media for it, I do not have ghost.
On an XP machine, the RCA DVR2160 shows up as:
RCA / dev/sbp0 IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device under disk drives

The drive within xp computer management shows that there is a unrecognized partition the size is 1020Mb Unallocated.

Btw: the Samsung SIR-T165 does not recognize the DVR at all

edit:
Has anyone found XP drivers for this unit or for the NAS option?
Diode1 is offline  
post #69 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 05:09 PM
Member
 
stu_1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my RCA 2160 in. I am still confused on how to record. It seems very shoddy on my Toshiba 62hm195. How can I record from my Bright House Cable on my SA8300HD? My 8300HD is connected via HDMI. The RCA 2160 seems to only allow me to record from "ANT 1" and "Video 1". I even tried recording from my DVD player hooked to my "Colorstream 1" but it didnt work. Any insight?
stu_1080p is offline  
post #70 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It will only record from digital TV SD or HDTV
Programmable recording is dependent on the capabilities of the HDTV or STB that sends the A/V digital stream
http://tv.rca.com/en-US/ModelDetail....nts&MN=DVR2160
Diode1 is offline  
post #71 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 06:10 PM
Bxz
Member
 
Bxz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got it today and it works with my Sharp D5U, tried recording some SD in the afternoon and it works great, now i guess i need to figure out about the TVGOS and try a scheduled recording.

Yes, if someone can find a driver for PC, that'll be great, when i connected it to XP, it detects a AV/C Disc Recorder, but that's it, no driver found, i tried the DVHS driver, seems not working either.
Bxz is offline  
post #72 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxz View Post

when i connected it to XP, it detects a AV/C Disc Recorder, but that's it, no driver found, i tried the DVHS driver, seems not working either.

XP also should show it as a
SBP2 IEEE 1394 Devices
Diode1 is offline  
post #73 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode1 View Post

It is, That is who made the RCA unit.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...13#post6683313
powered by this chip Powered by Indigita http://www.indigita.com/products/asic/ind60c32.html
yep I had to open up the box for a look inside.
The drive is a maxtor Diamond max 16 ata/133
Maxtor called it QuickView

The only differences I see is RCA supplied a nice little cooling fan & RCA place some nice side caps on the unit, the case it self has a very heavy brushed look.
The U.S patent number 6,151,443 also matches that of the pictures supplied in a earlier post.
RCA placed the U.S patent number information on the bottom of the drive.


My Toshiba Symbio has the same Indigita chip and Maxtor drive inside. I guess it is made by Indigita also. Patent number is also the same.
CKNA is offline  
post #74 of 616 Old 12-08-2005, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
jakebryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode1 View Post

Please let me know how that goes, I maybe interested in getting a image of the drive.
I can send you dvd +R media for it, I do not have ghost.
On an XP machine, the RCA DVR2160 shows up as:
RCA / dev/sbp0 IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device under disk drives

The drive within xp computer management shows that there is a unrecognized partition the size is 1020Mb Unallocated.

edit:
Has anyone found XP drivers for this unit or for the NAS option?

Not sure if this helps, but I thought I would share an excerpt from the DVR2160 manual (specs on pg 17):

Quote:


Hard Disk Drive (HDD) contains two partitions: 1 GB for use with computers with asynchronous data, and the rest of the drive for digital A/V with isochronous data.

I'm suppose this is what you see under xp, and the rest of the drive is the M6 cipher / DTCP (5C) encrypted part. Gives hope that firmware is installed/updated on the 1GB partition viewable by pc.
jakebryant is offline  
post #75 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:


It will only record from digital TV SD or HDTV

This won't record an analog NTSC channel??

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #76 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

This won't record an analog NTSC channel??

NO analog,
Diode1 is offline  
post #77 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 05:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Semi useless.............as bad as saying it won't record mono stations.
What, Hollywood is worried about copying analog material and selling copies on every street corner?

These manufactures are something else. No wonder it didn't sell.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #78 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 05:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
With digital cable it should be able to record most channels.
With ota, most channels should have the digital counterpart coming online at some point in the near future as mandated by the FCC.
What is it that you need to record?
Keep in mind this unit is built on 2003 tech.
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Semi useless.............as bad as saying it won't record mono stations.
What, Hollywood is worried about copying analog material and selling copies on every street corner?

These manufactures are something else. No wonder it didn't sell.

Diode1 is offline  
post #79 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 05:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:


Keep in mind this unit is built on 2003 tech.

When even more channels were NTSC.
It's years before analog will disappear. I don't know if those OTA analog cutoff dates include cable. My guess is no, but haven't read one way or the other.
This is just as bad as the JVC deck with no QAM tuner.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #80 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Doksoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Utah
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten this function to work with their TVguide? TVguide says it will work...but it doesn't work on my Samsung 5067W Aug 05 firmware. I can only set up TVguide to use a regular DVR. Until TVguide and Samsung get they're act together, my RCA can only be used for live tv, pause, fast forward, rev. I did record live tv and went back and forth a number of times, paused , and then fast forwarded to live tv. Everything stayed in sync and I didn't loose sound when I returned to normal play speed. Records wonderfully, great picture and sound. Maybe TVGuide with prompting by Samsung and others can get there firmware to work correctly.
Doksoul is offline  
post #81 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
After playing with this unit, trying everything to get my Samsung sir-t165 to see it.
I decided to dload the demo of FireBus DTV Recorder, The t165 recognized firebus in both configurations of D-VHS - AVDISC which leads me to believe that firebus mimics a D-VHS even when the driver is set to AVDISC. I followed up with a call to Samsung to verify my findings. Even though they advertised the t165 as D-VHS & AV-HDD & ect compatible they only enabled it to recognize a device that reports it as being a D-VHS,
So now, I need firmware of sorts for this Indigita that would report it as being a D-VHS.
Maybe a hack of sorts if Indigita is unwilling to help?
Anyone have any idea's
Diode1 is offline  
post #82 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
jakebryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode1 View Post

After playing with this unit, trying everything to get my Samsung sir-t165 to see it.
I decided to dload the demo of FireBus DTV Recorder, The t165 recognized firebus in both configurations of D-VHS - AVDISC which leads me to believe that firebus mimics a D-VHS even when the driver is set to AVDISC. I followed up with a call to Samsung to verify my findings. Even though they advertised the t165 as D-VHS & AV-HDD & ect compatible they only enabled it to recognize a device that reports it as being a D-VHS,
So now, I need firmware of sorts for this Indigita that would report it as being a D-VHS.
Maybe a hack of sorts if Indigita is unwilling to help?
Anyone have any idea's

Seeing the unit is half the battle. My Samsung HL-R4667W sees it - can even do basic transport functions - however, there is no scheduling interface on the AVHDD, instead it relies on one built into the TV. Samsung's TVGOS does not support recording to a firewire device (uses g-link infrared commands to set channel/record). So, in addition, looks like I'll be waiting for Samsung to release firmware with an updated TVGOS before I'll be able to see full functionality out of my AVHDD.

I've got an e-mail into Indigita support, will update if I get anywhere.
jakebryant is offline  
post #83 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
JTAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Semi useless.............as bad as saying it won't record mono stations.
What, Hollywood is worried about copying analog material and selling copies on every street corner?

These manufactures are something else. No wonder it didn't sell.

Let's see. So you would like to pay for an MPEG2 encoder in your TV on the off chance you might want to attach one of these devices and record analog channels?
JTAnderson is offline  
post #84 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was able to pull the 1GB image from the partition with R-Studio NTFS ver. 2.0 build 121000
I have no idea what the format actually is, R-Studio supports several.
R-Studio could not read any of the files themselves.
If someone has a spare drive and would like me to send this 1 GB file, pm me an ftp upload site. I have no way to say if this file is restorable on a bare drive & have the DVR recognize it after words. "IE upgrade drive size" I do not have a TV / Display that supports this DVR device.
Diode1 is offline  
post #85 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,057
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Yes.

At a manufacturing level that might be, what, $10?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1977. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #86 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTAnderson View Post

Let's see. So you would like to pay for an MPEG2 encoder in your TV on the off chance you might want to attach one of these devices and record analog channels?

Though these days SD MPEG2 encoders are not THAT expensive - with sub £100 DVD Recorders employing them. (If the encoder was on the recorder rather than the TV it would presumably complicate things though - so I see your argument about including it in the TV)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #87 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
JTAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Yes.

At a manufacturing level that might be, what, $10?

I doubt there are too many manufacturers, with the sense god gave a stick, who would add a $10 part to a TV to provide a feature that approximately 0% of their customers would use.
JTAnderson is offline  
post #88 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

This won't record an analog NTSC channel??

It will not record analog as it is only for recoding streams. It will record analog if you digitize it and feed it as transport stream.
CKNA is offline  
post #89 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Semi useless.............as bad as saying it won't record mono stations.
What, Hollywood is worried about copying analog material and selling copies on every street corner?

These manufactures are something else. No wonder it didn't sell.


It has nothing to do with Hollywood. These drives are just bit buckets and they exactly do what they were designed to do.
CKNA is offline  
post #90 of 616 Old 12-09-2005, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doksoul View Post

Has anyone gotten this function to work with their TVguide? TVguide says it will work...but it doesn't work on my Samsung 5067W Aug 05 firmware. I can only set up TVguide to use a regular DVR. Until TVguide and Samsung get they're act together, my RCA can only be used for live tv, pause, fast forward, rev. I did record live tv and went back and forth a number of times, paused , and then fast forwarded to live tv. Everything stayed in sync and I didn't loose sound when I returned to normal play speed. Records wonderfully, great picture and sound. Maybe TVGuide with prompting by Samsung and others can get there firmware to work correctly.

Samsung TV Guide is incomplete. There is no option to set recording to firewire device. It works no problem with Sharp TV's with TV Guide.
CKNA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Firewire 1394 Trade Association Q&A

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off