What can you do with IEEE 1394 port on LCD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-05-2006, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Solderbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of the LCD flat panel TV's I am looking at have a IEEE 1394 / Firewire port. The manual usually says that the TV "supports" camcorders and digital casette decks on this port. What else can you do with it? Do you think you can use it as a video input from a PC? Anyone ever done that?
Solderbot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-05-2006, 10:51 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm not sure if there is a PC that supports video out over an IEEE 1394 connection. One BIG feature that would be nice to have is something like a 1080p TV or HD TiVo that supports program out for archival purposes via IEEE 1394. But given this era of DRM and content "piracy" I doubt we will ever see this capability.
optivity is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-05-2006, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
elwood58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware upgrades.
elwood58 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 03:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kupakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On Windows, it can be used to stream videos on digital channels from the TV to the computer using VLC. I haven't been successful get the stream out from the PC to TV though.

With a Mac, though, you can use the computer to emulate a dvhs device and I can both record to and play from my Mac using the iLink controls on my TV.
Kupakai is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 04:06 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by elwood58
Firmware upgrades.
Tell that to Panasonic... its not going to happen. Where is my HD stretch firmware update?
optivity is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD cable box has a IEEE 1394 port, can I use this to connect to a 37d90u tv?
twak is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a hit or miss proposition as to what the manufacturers intended. The first IEEE1394 connections on Sharp sets were for D-VHS and only D-VHS. Now camcorders have it as well as some other devices. You just have to experiment with it and read the manual.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
Closed Thread Firewire 1394 Trade Association Q&A

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off