AVS Forum banner

firewire on set top boxes- legal requirement?

16K views 29 replies 11 participants last post by  svsikha 
#1 ·
To start off, I have no technical experience with 1394. I'm just a curious consumer...

Someone told me there is actually a legal requirement by the FCC that says content providers must provide firewire on all set top boxes if the consumer demands it. Is this really a law? I know my cable box has a firewire port but I've heard satelite companies refuse to comply. If this is true, how do they get away with it when the FCC as so much muscle behind it?

#4 ·
From what little information i have gathered on this over the past few months i have come up with this.

The FCC had mandated this, but it was struck down by the court of appeals. It was stated that the FCC has no authority to regulate actual settop devices. I think this is accurate, since i am holding a new settop box that does not have a firewire port on it.

This also carries over to the broadcast flag being used by some broadcasters to prevent output via the 1394 port. Although from what i understand, the only manufacturer to implement the Broadcast Flag is Motorola.

#5 ·
Althought I am dead set against the FCC having the authority for BF, it seems that someone should have some kind of authority to maintain some kind of standards regarding video equipment which was, in the past, only OTA and hence FCC regulated.

For instance, suppose all the manufacturers were to quit supplying composite video outputs. All the old TV's with obsolete analog tuners would really be in a bind. Actually, it might be a good business plan to sell more TV's.

NOTE: I'm biased. It is hard to imagine that earlier D-VHS which, still, are capable of recording HDTV are basically shut out of the loop already. Ironically, when you read white papers on ATSC, compatibility w/D-VHS was mentioned every other page. You might say that D-VHS was part of their "template" during that time.)

#6 ·