esata to firewire? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-31-2007, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hatbrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own an imac and I'd like to buy the DS351 from Silverstone.
This external raid unit has only esata connector and my imac only has firewire/usb.

I tried to find an cable adapter with firewire 800 on one end and esata on the other end but google did not retrieve the desired results.

Do anyone of you have any suggestion?

Many thanks.
hatbrox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-23-2008, 03:08 PM
Member
 
kumasuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check out this gizmo:

"http://www.firmtek.com/seritek/seritek-spyder/"

"http://www.firmtek.com/seritek/seritek-spyder/pr/launch/hub4.jpg"
kumasuki is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-23-2008, 04:10 PM
Member
 
kumasuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's another (already shipping) eSata-firewire option:

"http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/satofimiad2x.html"

I ended up purchasing this to connect an external SataII blu-ray burner to my laptop bypassing USB.
kumasuki is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-26-2008, 04:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hatbrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the update.

I finally changed my external drive for a combo, firewire, sata, usb.
however, the devide you suggest only output to firewire 400.
the gain over usb 2 through the converter must be marginal. have you compared the speed of both interfaces?
hatbrox is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-06-2009, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
allenhuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this posting when searching for information on this Firewire to SATA adapter. What has your experience with it been?
allenhuffman is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-08-2009, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hatbrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally kept my Lacie USB+eSata, it's dedicated to Mac OS Time Machine's backups.
So I use USB and speed is very fine for Time Machine.

I decided to buy a NAS enclosure to access my data over the network.
hatbrox is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-14-2010, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
Blycker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a related issue I am working on. I'd love your recommendations. I have an eSATA output on my laptop as well as USB 2.0, but I need to connect a recording interface which is a male Firewire 1394. So is there an adapter that can accomplish that? I purchased a Firewire/USB adapter, but it doesn't seem to be working. The software does not recognize that the interface is connected at all. Possibly a bum adapter, but maybe it wasn't ever going to work in the first place. Any thoughts?

I'm running Windows 7 and connecting to a Presonus Firebox, btw.

Thanks for your consideration,

Blycker
Blycker is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-10-2010, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
leoncornelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Blycker - I'm having the same issue - running an Edirol FA66 Firewire. Just got a new cpu, no firewire. Tried a usb 2.0/firewire hub. Exact same results. Looks like we're SOL unfortunately.
leoncornelius is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-30-2011, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
alphamazing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dude i have the exact same problem (new laptop, presonus firepod) have you found any solutions yet???
alphamazing is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-25-2011, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Koone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive got the same issue. Dell Lap with usb and sata. Personus firebox with firewire. I searched hard and have found only the cooldrive and spyderhub. Anybody figured it out? I have written to both companies for thier opinion. Sounds like it will work but will it ?
Koone is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-27-2011, 10:39 AM
 
dragonfyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For use with a laptop, obtain a PCMCIA/Cardbus eSata adapter.

For a desktop simply add an eSata adapter card.
dragonfyr is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-04-2012, 08:27 AM
Member
 
snaimpally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfyr View Post

For use with a laptop, obtain a PCMCIA/Cardbus eSata adapter.

Why did I not think of that? Many laptops, particular certain Dell laptops, do not include an PCMCIA or cardbus slot.
snaimpally is offline  
Reply Firewire 1394 Trade Association Q&A

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off