Discs the LG BH200 has problems with - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 05:20 AM
Member
 
binx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mass, near Cape Cod
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

How often did it skip? Cheers. Does anyone else have problems with this title?

Enchanted played for me with the April FW, but with video dropouts. I don't report the drop outs because the problem seems pervasive and is well-documented by now.

But since you brought it up , I get a video dropout on nearly every BD I play. It happens only once, a quick double flash, and that's it. I find it annoying but not tragic. I've never had the audio drop out, and unlike some others, I have never seen the problem on any HD-DVD. (FYI, I have the Onkyo 705 and an LG plasma display.)

And, about the FW and driver updates, I will add my confirmation that it does, indeed, work, as do the instructions for determining the current versions.

Brad, thanks for adding TBO to the list. I'd like to get it on HD just to see if it plays. If I do so, I will report back.

Cheers
Anna
binx77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by binx77 View Post

Brad, thanks for adding TBO to the list. I'd like to get it on HD just to see if it plays. If I do so, I will report back.

It's worth a rental presuming any stores still rent HD-DVDs or buying. It's bound to be dirt cheap now. I'm guessing less than $10.

You never know.
bradavon is offline  
post #543 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 11:44 AM
Member
 
binx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mass, near Cape Cod
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

It's bound to be dirt cheap now. I'm guessing less than $10.

Believe it or not, it's still $25 at Amazon! If it drops to $15 (or if I can find it for rent anywhere), I'll give it a go.


Cheers
Anna
binx77 is offline  
post #544 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah, it's one of the odd Warner HD-DVDs not to drop in price. I'm sure it will sooner or later. How about any of these? -

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0010HOZWG

Otherwise I cannot find it for less.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As it happens, The Brave One UK HD-DVD is:

£3.93
Postage and Packaging: £1.59
TOTAL: £5.52 (USD $10.94)

Here: http://www.thehut.com/hut/9950630.product

The UK HD-DVD is is also a Warner title so is bound to be identical, except for: the cover, dub soundtracks and subtitles. Crucially the AV is bound to be the same. They're a decent company (The Hut that is). I've used them a few times, as have many others in The UK.

In case you don't realise (unlike DVDs) HD-DVDs are technically identical world-wide, so will work perfectly fine in a North American Player.

p.s -I was only 94 cents out .
bradavon is offline  
post #545 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 12:25 PM
Member
 
binx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mass, near Cape Cod
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All right -- you talked me into it!! It's on its way. Now, I hope it plays, since I would actually like to see this film!

More to come...

Cheers
Anna
=========

GAH!! Timing is everything, isn't it!! I searched a UK outfit (dvd.co.uk) I'd bought from previously, it was more than double that. I bought it from an Amazon seller who is either the HD Digest reviewer of questionable ability (according to some) or someone with the same name.

Did not know about thehut dot com -- I'll keep that in mind for the future. Many thanks for your efforts!

A.
binx77 is offline  
post #546 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by binx77 View Post

GAH!! Timing is everything, isn't it!! I searched a UK outfit (dvd.co.uk) I'd bought from previously, it was more than double that.

Funnily enough I was going to recommend them but The Hut are cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by binx77 View Post

I bought it from an Amazon seller who is either the HD Digest reviewer of questionable ability (according to some) or someone with the same name.

Any chance you can e-mail them and apologise lots, then ask for a cancellation?

It was out of stock at The Hut anyway (2-4 week delivery).

Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post

I have the HD DVD of SUPERMAN RETURNS (non-combo) and whenever I went into SPECIAL FEATURES on the menu, I got the DISC ERROR message.

Cheers. I'll add it.
bradavon is offline  
post #547 of 1091 Old 07-09-2008, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
narcopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western USA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

That's correct and normal. The other two are disabled unless you've got it connected to a 4:3 TV. Are you sure you're doing it right? No offence but I'm not sure you are, as it definitely works .

On a Widescreen display it automatically selects 16:9, then enter the numbers one after the other and then press Enter. You should then see the window appear.

Well, the light blinks in the display window when I enter each number. And I press the button that's in the middle of the circle on the remote control that says "Enter" on it when I'm done with the set of numbers. Don't know what I'd being doing differently than everyone else. Can someone with a Feb., 2008 build date confirm this works for them? Maybe just the earlier built models can display the version.
narcopolo is offline  
post #548 of 1091 Old 07-10-2008, 03:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's possible Players with the November firmware cannot see this. As far as we can tell the build date in reality means nothing.

You can also check the firmware and driver version by going to:

1. SETUP
2. Under the last option, see if you have a "Network Update" option.
3. If you select it, you will see your current version.

Presuming you have a North American Player, which I'm guessing you do. If it's older than the 2nd of April (BH02080402F) firmware you can upgrade it and then try again.
bradavon is offline  
post #549 of 1091 Old 07-10-2008, 11:05 AM
Member
 
bigshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

Ran into my first disc error tonight: Special Features disc of Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story. I get a disc error message when I try to play it, the tray opens immediately and spits it out. Anyone else have problems with that one?

That was the first disc I bought with the player. It plays fine on mine. No problems at all.

I haven't been back to this thread in awhile, but definitely had the Face/Off and Zodiac "judder" issues with the special features (the movies play fine). I may have been the one to first report them, actually.
bigshemp is offline  
post #550 of 1091 Old 07-10-2008, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try that disc again and see if I can figure out what the deal was or is. Thanks!
DCSholtis is offline  
post #551 of 1091 Old 07-10-2008, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
narcopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western USA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

It's possible Players with the November firmware cannot see this. As far as we can tell the build date in reality means nothing.

You can also check the firmware and driver version by going to:

1. SETUP
2. Under the last option, see if you have a "Network Update" option.
3. If you select it, you will see your current version.

Presuming you have a North American Player, which I'm guessing you do. If it's older than the 2nd of April (BH02080402F) firmware you can upgrade it and then try again.

Don't have that Network Update option, but somehow the previously mentioned method worked this time. No disk in the player. Maybe that's the trick.

Says BH02071119R/PKG411_LG2

Loader 0701
narcopolo is offline  
post #552 of 1091 Old 07-10-2008, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the 11th of November firmware, the first firmware released. You also have the 0701 driver. The latest firmware is the 2nd of April (before that there was the January, then Beta March firmware) and the latest driver is 0702.

I'd upgrade the firmware and driver, definitely the firmware.

Network Update was added with the January firmware. The other remote controls hacks (for want of a better word) require no disc is in the player. I could believe this is the same.
bradavon is offline  
post #553 of 1091 Old 07-11-2008, 09:47 PM
Member
 
wlee1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
watched Enchanted BD bitstreaming TrueHD to Pioneer 9120TXH, had at least 5 times of audio drop and maybe some video drop

my BH200 is on April FW and 702 driver was applied prior, shall I re-apply 702?
wlee1225 is offline  
post #554 of 1091 Old 07-12-2008, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's worth a try.
bradavon is offline  
post #555 of 1091 Old 07-12-2008, 10:50 AM
Member
 
jimmy86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have trouble with Enemy of the Gates/Stalingrad HD DVD?Earlier posts mentioned a bad disc pressing?Has this been resolved?Would like to pick up but am leary of it not playing.Thanks for the help.
jimmy86 is offline  
post #556 of 1091 Old 07-12-2008, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've PMed 5harkology at least 3-4 times asking he update his claim that their was a faulty pressing he's never bothered to reply to me or post here . All I can suggest is you try PMing him.
bradavon is offline  
post #557 of 1091 Old 07-12-2008, 03:12 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy86 View Post

Anyone have trouble with Enemy of the Gates/Stalingrad HD DVD?Earlier posts mentioned a bad disc pressing?Has this been resolved?Would like to pick up but am leary of it not playing.Thanks for the help.

I know the discs at one point were being swapped out for playable discs. So if they were swapping them something was obviously wrong with them from their end.
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #558 of 1091 Old 07-13-2008, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could e-mail Amazon France and ask if they have good stock. As it seems they know about it, at least asking will mean you have a Yes or No in writing.

They should reply in English.
bradavon is offline  
post #559 of 1091 Old 07-13-2008, 08:32 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

You could e-mail Amazon France and ask if they have good stock. As it seems they know about it, at least asking will mean you have a Yes or No in writing.

They should reply in English.

And even if they wont help maybe they can point you in touch with the company that was doing the swaps. I cant remember the name of the company but it had the name One in it. Something like Media One or Cinema One, something like that (dont quote me on it though).
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #560 of 1091 Old 07-13-2008, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Confirming the "Hotel Babylon" issue with the April firmware and 702 driver. I can play one, but I can't access the menus to select the other episodes.
allargon is offline  
post #561 of 1091 Old 07-14-2008, 01:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have the UK discs right? Unless it's somehow considered good in the far West .

Have you tried the January firmware? Consider it added.
bradavon is offline  
post #562 of 1091 Old 07-14-2008, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

You have the UK discs right? Unless it's somehow considered good in the far West .

Have you tried the January firmware? Consider it added.

Nope, only April. Yeah, it's a UK disc. It's my first true problematic combo, too.
allargon is offline  
post #563 of 1091 Old 07-14-2008, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could you try the Jan firmware please.
bradavon is offline  
post #564 of 1091 Old 07-15-2008, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Could you try the Jan firmware please.

Maybe... I do despise going back and forth with firmwares.

I take it I will need to undo the PAL and SD DVD region 0 hacks before reverting?

Two more problem discs--more Digital Playground AVC HD DVD discs. The opening menu never appears and they are unplayable (same as Babysitters, Jesse's Juice, etc.). These two are Intoxicated and Teagan: Sexual Freak 2.
allargon is offline  
post #565 of 1091 Old 07-15-2008, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

Maybe... I do despise going back and forth with firmwares.

Me too but it will probably fix it. Do you do it often? I would feel more cautious if you've done it a few times recently. Of course if you have an HDMI Amp it does put you in a prediciment, as the Jan firmware doesn't support lossless audio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

I take it I will need to undo the PAL and SD DVD region 0 hacks before reverting?

Nope. Firmware upgrades/downgrades don't effect these.

Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

Two more problem discs--more Digital Playground AVC HD DVD discs. The opening menu never appears and they are unplayable (same as Babysitters, Jesse's Juice, etc.). These two are Intoxicated and Teagan: Sexual Freak 2.

Thanks I'll add them.
bradavon is offline  
post #566 of 1091 Old 07-16-2008, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Euroflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bravodon as asked me to report it here, so here it goes:

Roberto Benigni's "La Tigre e la Neve" (this is strictly an Italian edition...it does not even feature an English audio track and the subtitles are in Italian only).

The player just churns and churns, blinking both logos and, after a minute or so, rejects the disc. (Works fine on the XBOX)

Euro BH-200, just bought. April firmware and Driver 0702 installed.

EF
Euroflyer is offline  
post #567 of 1091 Old 07-16-2008, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Euroflyer. I've added it to the list.
bradavon is offline  
post #568 of 1091 Old 07-16-2008, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netflixed the Chicago/EWF BD disc and had several freezes during play and one lockup where I had to eject/re-insert the disc.
davcole is online now  
post #569 of 1091 Old 07-17-2008, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Ran into my first problem disc with the player. The Ruins would not load. You get to that first "loading" screen with the gray strip across the screen and the player just idles there. Disc worked fine in my PS3.

Contributing Editor/Writer
Sound And Vision Magazine

Click Here To See My Current Setup
Kris Deering is offline  
post #570 of 1091 Old 07-17-2008, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kris: You have the latest firmware and driver right?
bradavon is offline  
Closed Thread Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off